Dr. Jill L. Heyboer



Role: Faculty
Campus: Springfield

Postal mail

Missouri State University
901 S. National Ave.
Springfield, MO 65897



  • Doctor of Musical Arts, Michigan State University, Flute Performance
  • Masters of Music, Arizona State University, Flute Performance
  • BA, Luther College, Music Education/Performance


  • MUS 142 Woodwind Class II
  • MUS 155 Woodwind - Flute
  • MUS 172 Flute Ensemble
  • MUS 255 Woodwind - Flute
  • MUS 272
  • MUS 355: Woodwind - Flute
  • MUS 372
  • MUS 398 Junior Recital-Flute
  • MUS 455: Woodwind - Flute
  • MUS 472
  • MUS 498 Senior Recital - Flute
  • MUS 538
  • MUS 599
  • MUS 658
  • MUS 755

Professional experience

An advocate of contemporary flute music, Dr. Heyboer has premiered several new pieces by living American composers.  Some of these composers include Robert Mueller, Robert Brownlow, Zae Munn, and Alexis Bacon.  As a recording artist, Dr. Heyboer has recorded pieces by Villa Lobos on the Naxos label, and Richard Faith on MSR Classics.  She also has a solo flute CD of flute music by American composers including music by Brownlow,
Mueller, Amram, Dick, and Persichetti, soon to be released, also on the MSR label.


Prior to her appointment at Missouri State, Dr. Heyboer held teaching and professional
orchestral flute and piccolo positions in both Idaho and Michigan.  Dr. Heyboer's educational background includes a B.A. in Music Education from Luther College, an M.M. in Flute Performance from Arizona State University, and a D.M.A. in Flute Performance from Michigan State University. Her primary teachers were Kathleen Cook, Leslie Maaser, Eric Hoover, Brian Gordon and Richard Sherman.

Research and professional interests

Jill Heyboer is Professor of Music (Flute) at Missouri State University, where she teaches undergraduate and graduate applied flute and is the coach and conductor of the many flute ensembles at Missouri State, including the Missouri State Flute Quartet and the Missouri State Community Flute Choir. She is a member of the Borderline Trio, the Hong-Heyboer-Murray Trio and the principal flutist in the Springfield Symphony Orchestra. During the summer, Dr. Heyboer is on the faculty at the Interlochen Arts Camp in Michigan, where she teaches flute and coaches chamber music.


An active clinician, adjudicator and performer, Dr. Heyboer has been an artist/clinician at various flute and music conferences around the country, including the Kansas City Flute Association's Flute Day, the Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) State Convention, Missouri Music Educator’s Association (MMEA) State Conference, Washburn University’s April Flutes Day, and numerous National Flute Association's (NFA) National Conventions.  As a soloist, she has appeared with the Missouri State Symphony Orchestra, the Washburn University Symphony Orchestra the Springfield Symphony Orchestra, and the Interlochen Festival Orchestra. She has been a semi-finalist in the NFA Young Artist Piccolo Competition, the Myrna Brown National Flute Competition, and a winner of the NFA Performer's Competition.


Other interests

Dr. Heyboer is the faculty advisor to the Missouri State Flute Society, a Missouri State student organization made up of flutists that promotes a greater understanding and appreciation of the flute.  In addition to other activities, the Flute Society is the sponsor of the annual Missouri State Flute Day.  Held every spring, flutists from Missouri State and the surrounding communities gather together to experience a masterclass and recital given by a world-renowned flutist.  Guest artists have included Richard Sherman, Mark Sparks, Ervin Monroe, Bonita Boyd, and most recently Greg Pattillo.

Awards and honors

  • Awarded $1,500 by the Brannen-Cooper Fund, Brannen-Cooper Flutes, 2009
  • Awarded $1,025 by the SSO Musician's Initiative Fund, Springfield Symphony Orchestra, March 2009
  • Awarded $750 by the SSO Musician's Initiative Fund, Springfield Symphony Orchestra, 2008
  • Winner National Flute Association's Performer's Competition, 2008
  • Awarded $1,500 by SOFAC, MSU Flute Society, 2006
  • Awarded $1,000 by SOFAC, SMSU Flute Society, 2005
  • Awarded $650 by SOFAC, SMSU Flute Society, 2004
  • Semi-Finalist, Myrna Brown International Flute Competition, 2004, 2003
  • Awarded $1,000 by SOFAC, SMSU Flute Society, 2002
  • Winner - National Flute Association's Performer's Competition, 2002