Missouri State Conducting Workshop

Saturday, February 6, 2021

Mark your calendars for the MSU Conducting Workshop!  This year's guest conductor will be Jack Delaney, Director of Bands at Southern Methodist University, along with MSU Band Faculty, Dr. John Zastoupil (Director of Concert Bands), Dr. Brad Snow (Director of Athletic Bands) and Dr. Jeremy Chesman (Professor of Music).

Workshop Details​​​​​​​

When: Saturday, February 6, 2021
Who: Music Educators, graduate and undergraduate conducting students

Where: Wehr Band Hall on the Missouri State University campus

What: All day workshop including morning and afternoon conducting sessions with the MSU Wind Ensemble and MSU Wind Symphony. Movement session by Jeremy Chesman, and a presentation by internationally recognized conductor and pedagogue Jack Delaney.

Workshop Fees: (fee includes lunch and symposium materials)

Participant $75 (limited to 16) - initial deposit $40 ($35 additional due for those selected to conduct)

  •  participating conductors receive podium time with each ensemble and coaching by our clinicians
  •  achieve professional development hours

Observer $40 (unlimited enrollment)

  • attend all sessions and achieve professional development hours

Student (non-MSU) Observer $20 (unlimited enrollment)

  • attend all sessions 

Workshop Schedule

Time Event
7:45am Registration / Coffee and Continental Breakfast (Foyer, Room 125)
8:00am Welcome (Room 125)
8:15am Morning "Tune Up" by Jeremy Chesman (Room 125)
9:00am Conducting Session I with MSU Wind Symphony (Room 123)
10:45am BREAK
11:00am Conducting Session I, cont.
12:00pm Lunch (provided)
1:00pm Presentation by Jack Delaney (Room 125)
1:50pm BREAK
2:00pm Conducting Session II with MSU Wind Ensemble (Room 123)
3:15pm BREAK
3:30pm Conducting Session II, cont.
4:45pm Wrap-Up (Room 125)
5:30pm Dinner (location TBA, Dutch treat)

Registration Resources

Registration will open November 1, 2020.


Email Dr. Zastoupil or bands@missouristate.edu with questions.

Jack Delaney is director of bands and professor of music at the Meadows School of the Arts at Southern Methodist University, where he conducts the Meadows Wind Ensemble and teaches courses in conducting and wind literature. Under his guidance, the Meadows Wind Ensemble has established itself as one of the leading ensembles of its kind, as evidenced by performances at significant regional, national and international music festivals and conferences throughout the United States and Europe.

Delaney has conducted professional and student ensembles throughout Israel, Europe, South America and the United States, including performances with the New World Symphony Orchestra, Dallas Wind Symphony and the United States Army Field Band, as well as performances in Boston’s Symphony Hall, New York’s Town Hall, Miami’s historic Lincoln Theatre and the Meyerson Symphony Center in Dallas.

In addition, Delaney has commissioned some 60 major works by leading composers, including Augusta Read Thomas, Samuel Adler, Eric Ewazen, Stephen Paulus, Warren Benson, Stephen Jones, Akira Miyoshi, John Mackey, Bob Mintzer, Cindy McTee, Steven Bryant, David Sargent, Simon Sargon, Charles Rochester Young, Eric Stokes, Kevin Hanlon, Adam Silverman, Robert Frank, John Michael Davis, Vicente Moncho, Derrick Horne, Michael van der Sloot and many others. Delaney has collaborated with a number of choreographers to create, and in some instances re-create, original works for dancers, wind ensembles and chamber orchestras. These commissions include works to accompany the music of Norman Dello Joio, Stephen Montague, Joseph Schwantner, Igor Stravinsky, Carolos Surinach, Darius Milhaud and Frank Zappa.

The recipient of numerous awards and distinctions, Delaney has been awarded the Algur H. Meadows Distinguished Teaching Professorship at Meadows School of the Arts, the Rotunda Outstanding Professor Award from Southern Methodist University, the Achievement in Music Award from Ohio University, and was honored by the Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music at the first-ever alumni concert by the Cincinnati Wind Symphony.