First-Year Programs Advisory Council


To advise the Director of First-Year Programs and the Associate Provost for Student Development and Public Affairs on initiatives involving the first-year experience (FYE) at Missouri State University. This includes, but is not limited to:
  1. Developing a first-year philosophy statement and over-arching goals for the program;

  2. Evaluating the effectiveness of GEP 101, and making recommendations to the Director concerning changes to the course designed to increase academic excellence, enhance student success, and integrate the public affairs mission;

  3. Providing assistance with the learning communities and common reader programs; and

  4. Serving as a liaison with other departments/colleges/student affairs as part of a larger effort to inform and address issues involving first-year students. (Members serve three-year terms. Student members will be appointed as needed to accommodate graduations.)

Current Advisory Council 2018-2019

Rotating Members

Dr. Denise Baumann, Student Affairs (member through 2020)

Mr. Mark Biggs, COAL (member through 2019)

Ms. Sierra Chitwood, Student Representative, COM major, Sign Language minor

Dr. Jeffrey Cornelius-White, COE (member through 2020)

Dr. Tom Dicke, CHPA (member through 2019) 

Dr. Clay Franklin, CHHS (member through 2019)

Ms. Crystal Gale, LIBR (member through 2020)

Mr. Scott Handley, Honors College (member through 2020)

Dr. Stephanie Hein, CNAS (member through 2020)

Dr. Cathy VanLanduyt, COB (member through 2019)

Mr. Joshua Vogel, Student Representative, CMB major, ECO and CHM minor

Ex-Officio Members

Dr. Rachelle Darabi, Associate Provost, Student Development and Public Affairs (standing member)

Dr. Kelly Wood, Executive Director, Center for Academic Success and Transition (standing member)

Dr. Tracey Glaessgen, Associate Director, Center for Academic Success and Transition (standing member)