Committee on Faculty Benefits


The purpose of the Faculty Benefits Committee is to maintain communication with personnel in the Office of Human Resources concerning current faculty benefits.

The Committee will prepare an annual report on the status of faculty benefits, to be submitted to the Faculty Senate during the Spring semester and presented no later than the April Session, that includes:

  • A comparative review of benefits provided or available to faculty at MSU and benefits offered to faculty at other state and peer institutions.
  • A review of data from the Faculty Concerns survey addressing satisfaction with faculty benefits.
  • A summary of feedback solicited from the faculty about current and desired benefits.
  • A list of Committee recommendations, if any.


The Committee on Faculty Benefits shall include one representative from each undergraduate college and one representative from each entity so identified in Academic Entities. Eligible college representatives include ranked faculty. College representatives shall be appointed by the Chair of the Faculty. The Chair of the Faculty shall choose members with interest in benefits. The Associate Director of Human Resources in charge of Benefits, or a designee of the Associate Director, shall be an ex officio member without vote.

College representatives shall serve for a term of three (3) years and may be reappointed indefinitely. Terms shall be staggered so that one-third of the membership is appointed each year. 

The Committee on Faculty Benefits shall elect a chair annually from among its members. The chair must either have served on the Committee the previous year or have past experience serving on the committee, unless no current member meets these criteria.

When the Committee on Faculty Benefits is formed for the first time, the members shall first elect a chair who shall have a term length of three years. The initial terms of service for the remaining college representatives shall be determined by drawing lots so that initial terms of one (1), two (2), and three (3) years are each assigned to one-third of the representatives.