Faculty Senate

2021–22 Faculty Senate Chair message

Christopher Herr

Welcome to the Missouri State University Faculty Senate webpage. Here you will find information about Faculty Senate meetings and actions, as well as links to the online curricular process, Senate committees, and other relevant information.

Faculty Senate is an elected body, charged with overseeing faculty matters—including review and approval of all curricular changes—and representing the will of the faculty to the administration and Board of Governors. It consists of voting representatives from every department at the university, as well as representatives from the various ranks of faculty on campus, and an Executive Committee, consisting of the Chair, Chair-Elect, Secretary of the Faculty, and past-Chair, as well as the Senate Parliamentarian. There are also non-voting members from student groups, and staff.

Faculty Senate meets monthly, usually on the second Thursday of the month, to consider proposals from standing Senate committees and other issues of importance to faculty. All Senate meetings and standing committee meetings are open to faculty.

I am pleased and honored to be asked to serve as the Chair of Faculty Senate for 2021–22. I believe strongly in the power and efficacy of shared governance, and I urge you to take part in that process by communicating your concerns to your departmental and rank representatives and by serving on Senate committees when possible. Please feel free to contact me at any time with questions or concerns. All the best for a productive—and safe—academic year.

Christopher Herr
Faculty Senate Chair, 2021–22
Professor of Theatre
Department of Theatre and Dance


Faculty Senate Executive Committee


Chair – Dr. Christopher Herr
Chair-Elect – Dr. Michael Hudson
Secretary – Dr. Lanya Lamouria
Parliamentarian – Dr. Cynthia MacGregor
Past Chair – Dr. Cameron Wickham

Faculty Senate Office

Sandra Johnson, CAP
Administrative Specialist III
Office: LIB 201D
Phone: 836-5257

Faculty Senate Calendar

March 31 - Faculty Senate Executive Committee Meets

April 5 - College Councils Meet

April 6 - CGEIP, EPPC, and Graduate council Meet

April 12 - Committee on Faculty Concerns Meet

April 15 - Offices Closed

April 21 - Faculty Senate Meets at 3:30 p.m. in LIB 101

April 28 - FSEC Meets

May 4 - Graduate Council, EPPC and CGEIP Meet

May 12 - Organizational session of the 2022-23 Faculty Senate meets at 3:30 p.m. in PSU 313