Assessment Council

Assessment Council is an advisory committee to the Provost consisting at least two representatives from each college. Current membership includes 35 members who represent 25 curricular and co-curricular departments and offices across campus.


(updated, 2018) 

Purpose: To provide information, advice, and counsel to the Office of the Provost in matters of assessment. The Council will support the Director of Assessment in the charge to administer a comprehensive, continual, multidimensional assessment program of student learning outcomes and evaluation of academic programs, collaborating with campus units to integrate assessment and evaluation efforts across campus, and integrating assessment activities and results with accreditation processes. This includes, but is not limited to 1) monitoring the Higher Learning Commission Quality Initiative Project (QIP) assessment process; (2) reviewing current assessment tools used to assess institutional goals; (3) planning and implementing assessment training programs for the campus; (4) reviewing program-level assessment plans; and (5) supporting general education program assessments.  

Members include:  

  • Ranked faculty from each college

  • Representatives from the Division for Diversity & Inclusion, Student Affairs, and Student Development and Public Affairs 

  • Representatives from the undergraduate and graduate student bodies  

  • One representative of the academic administration

  • The Director of Assessment 

The Council Chair, the Director of Assessment, shall prepare the agenda and reports for discussion and consideration by the Assessment Council. Subcommittees of the Council shall be appointed by the Director of Assessment as are deemed necessary and appropriate for the timely fulfillment of the functions of the Council. Council members shall report assessment activities and Council discussions to the colleges, departments, and other units they represent.  

College of Business

Dr. Libby Rozell, Associate Dean

Dr. Cathryn A. Van Landuyt, Computer Information Systems

Kate Haring, Coordinator, Accreditation, Assessment and Enrollment Management 

College of Education

Barri Tinkler, Associate Dean

Kathy M. Gibson, Greenwood Lab School

Ximena Uribe-Zarain, Counesling Leadership, and Special Education

College of Humanities and Public Affairs

Dr. Steve Berkwitz, Religious Studies

Dr. Catherine Hoegeman, Sociology & Anthropology

College of Natural and Applied Science

Dr. Toby Dogwiler, Geography, Geology, and Planning

Dr. Steven Senger, Mathematics

Dr. Matthew Siebert, Chemistry

Darr College of Agriculture

Dr. Beth Walker, Animal Science

Dr. Wenping Qiu, Agriculture

McQueary College of Health and Human Services

Dr. Christie Cathey, Psychology

Dr. Letitia White Minnis, Communication Sciences and Disorders 

Reynolds College of Arts and Letters

Dr. Andrew H. Homburg, Music

Dr. Judith Martinez, Modern and Classical Languages

Dr. Erin Wehrman, Communication


Dr. Kathy J. Nordyke, Director, Citizenship and Service Learning

Computer Services

Brian Edmond, Management Information Systems and Computer Services

Diversity and Inclusion

Tabitha Haynes, Marketing and Data Comm Specialist

Dr. Juan Meraz, Associate VP


Nancy Gordon, Director

Graduate College

Algerian Hart, Associate Dean

Institutional Research

Dr. Michelle Olsen, Director


Dr. Rachel M. Besara, Library Science

Tracy Stout, Library Science

Public Affairs and Assessment

Dr. Keri R. Franklin, Associate Provost

Julia L. Cottrell, Assessment Consultant

Mark A. Woolsey, Assessment Consultant

Student Affairs

Dr. Kelly Rapp, Director, Career Center

Tara Benson, PSU Director Student Engagement


Katherine Ruch, Junior, Sociology & Anthropology, SGA Director of Research & Development

Andrew Roberts, Senior, Psychology, SGA Director of Diversity & Inclusion

Student Success

Dr. Tracey Glaessgen, Center for Academic Success and Transition

Dr. Kelly Wood, Center for Academic Success and Transition




August 25- Zoom at 10:00 am

September 22- Zoom at 10:00 am

October 20- Zoom at 10:00 am

November 17- Zoom at 10:00 am

December 15- Zoom at 10:00 am


January 19- Zoom at 10:00 am

February 23- Zoom at 10:00 am

March 23 Zoom at 10:00 am

April 20- Zoom at 10:00 am