Missouri Content Assessments (MoCA)

Updated 8/6/2015

What are the Missouri Content Assessments?

Missouri Content Assessments (MoCA) are tests required to be passed by all candidates for a teaching or student services certificate.  Candidates must attempt the Missouri Content Assessment (MoCA) for their certification area prior to student teaching (some programs require that the MoCA be passed prior to student teaching) and the appropriate MoCA must be passed in order to be recommended for certification.  Refer to the MEGA website for MoCA details. 



$77.00 - $189.00, varies by area


Beginning Fall 2014

Important Updates Regarding the Missouri Content Assessments

What test should I take?

You can find the correct test by certification area by viewing the list of assessments by program posted on the Missouri Educator Gateway Assessments (MEGA) website. 

When should I take the test?

It may take more than one attempt to pass the Missori Content Assessment, so don't wait until the last minute and risk delaying your certification. Candidates must attempt the exam prior to student teaching (some programs require that it be passed prior to student teaching). If you are unsure about when to take it, please check with your Academic Advisor.

Where do I take the test?

Missouri State is currently working with Pearson to offer these exams on the Missouri State campus. This should occur sometime fall 2014. Until then, you can register to take the exam at several other locations in Springfield including OTC, Drury University and Bryan College. Long-term, Missouri State has plans to create a new Testing Center to better serve our students. The Missouri Content Assessments can be taken anywhere in the United States there is a Pearson Vue Testing Center. To determine where you will take your test, go to the Missouri Educator Gateway Assessments website and then click on "Tests". Select the test you need to take. You will then be able to view test dates, locations, fees, etc.

How do I register for the test?

You can register by going to the Missouri Educator Gateway Assessments website and clicking "Register" on the top. The first time, you will need to create an account. Once logged in, you can register for any of the available tests. When registering, please be sure to indicate that you received your training at Missouri State. This way, they will send us your score report. You will also want them to email you a PDF of your score report. You should save this for your records.

How do I prepare for the test?

Study Guides, sample tests and testing frameworks for the Missouri Content Assessments can be found by going to the Missouri Educator Gateway Assessments website and clicking on "prepare". Currently Study Guides and Test Frameworks can be downloaded from the MEGA website for free. Practice Tests can be purchased for an additional fee.

How do I add additional certifications through Missouri Content Assessments?

Once you are certified to teach in any area, you can add certificates by passing the appropriate Missouri Content Assessment in that area. For more information on adding additional certificates, please visit our Adding Certificates website. (note: Students adding middle school to the same area of Secondary Education will take the Principles of Learning and Teaching MCA, test # 062, not the Middle School Content Area Assessment.) Once you have passed the Missouri Content Area Assessment, you will need to apply for that additional certificate through DESE. Even though they will receive your score, they will not act on it unless you apply for the certificate. To apply for the additional certificate through Missouri Content Assessment, please go to our Applying for your Certificate website and click on "added teaching certificate".

These added certificates through Missouri Content Assessment may not be transferable to other states since you did not earn them through coursework. If you plan to move to another state to teach and want to transfer all of your added certificates, you should contact that state to see if they accept certification through Missouri Content Assessment before registering for an additional exam.