June 22, 2017

JUNE 22, 2017 3:30 P.M.

Present- Mr. Gregory Spears, Committee Chair
Ms. Virginia Fry, Committee Member (by conference call)
Mr. Kendall Seal, Committee Member (by conference call)

Also Present- Mr. Clifton Smart III, President
Mr. Drew Bennett, Chancellor
Ms. Donna Christian, Director of Internal Audit and Compliance
Mr. Ryan DeBoef, Chief of Staff and Assistant to the President for Governmental
Ms. Rachael Dockery, General Counsel
Mr. Steve Foucart, Chief Financial Officer
Mr. Gabriel Gore, Governor (by conference call)
Mr. Craig Frazier, Governor
Mr. David Hall, Emergency Preparedness Manager
Mr. Matt Morris, Vice President for Administrative Services
Mr. Scott Schneider, Director of Business and Support Services
Ms. Carol Silvey, Governor
Dr. Dee Siscoe, Vice President for Student Affairs
Ms. Carrie Tergin, Governor
Ms. Kristan Gochenauer, Secretary to the Board

1. Roll Call – Mr. Gregory Spears, Committee Chair, called the Risk Management and Audit
Committee meeting to order at 3:34 p.m. on Thursday, June 22, 2017, in room 211 of Melton
Hall on the campus of Missouri State University – West Plains in West Plains, Missouri.

2. Approval of Minutes – Mr. Spears mentioned that the first item of business was the
approval of minutes from the May 17, 2017 meeting. Ms. Virginia Fry made a motion,
seconded by Mr. Kendall Seal.
Motion passed unanimously.

3. Report on Safety and Security Updates – Dr. Drew Bennett, Chancellor, reported that
West Plains campus representatives attended emergency management and planning sessions
in St. Louis and Cape Girardeau and are currently working together with the Springfield
campus to identify and rank top risks on the West Plains campus. He then reviewed West
Plains campus safety and security updates to include web and phone remote
unlocking/locking of the Student Recreation Center (FEMA shelter) and a direct line to the West Plains police department. He also noted that the campus is currently accepting bids for the installation of fire suppressors in the Garnett Library.

Dr. Bennett then introduced Mr. David Hall, Emergency Preparedness Manager. Mr. Hall gave a presentation on the emergency procedures for the West Plains campus and verified that emergency preparedness and safety infrastructure and protocols on the campus meet or exceed expectations.

Risk Management Committees on both campuses are looking at risks for review at the August 3, 2017, Board of Governors’ Retreat.

4. Closed Meeting – It was determined that the Board of Governors needed to meet in a closed session to consider items of business provided in the Revised Statutes of Missouri. Mr. Spears asked if a resolution authorizing a closed meeting of the Board was prepared. Thereupon, the following resolution was presented for consideration:

BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Governors for Missouri State University that a closed meeting, with closed records and closed vote, be held during a recess of the June 23, 2017 Risk Management and Audit Committee meeting of the Board of Governors to consider items of business pursuant to:
A. R.S.Mo. 610.021(1). “Legal actions, causes of action, or litigation involving a public governmental body...”
B. R.S.Mo. 310.021(3). “Hiring, firing, disciplining or promoting of particular employees by a public governmental body…”
C. R.S.Mo. 610.021(13). “Individually identifiable personnel records, performance ratings or records pertaining to employees or applicants for employment,...”
D. R.S.Mo. 610.021(17). “Confidential or privileged communications between a
public governmental body and its auditor,....”

Ms. Fry moved the approval of the resolution and Mr. Seal seconded the motion.
A roll call vote on the motion was as follows: those voting in favor – Governors Fry, Seal and Spears; those voting against – none.

Mr. Spears declared the resolution passed unanimously. The open meeting was recessed at 4:12 p.m. to go into closed session.

The open meeting was reconvened at 4:40 p.m.

5. Adjournment – Mr. Spears adjourned the meeting at 4:41 p.m., on the motion of Mr. Seal, the second of Ms. Fry, and the unanimous approval of the committee.

Kristan Gochenauer
Secretary to the Board