May 7, 2014



MAY 7, 2014

1. Roll Call

Present- Mr. Stephen Bough, Governor (by conference call)

Mr. Joe Carmichael, Governor

Ms. Virginia Fry, Governor (by conference call)

Mr. Peter Hofherr, Governor (by conference call)

Ms. Paige Jenkins, Student Governor

Ms. Beverly Miller, Chair of the Board (by conference call)

Mr. Kendall Seal, Governor (by conference call)

Ms. Carrie Tergin, Governor (by conference call)

Absent- Mr. Stephen B. Hoven, Vice Chair of the Board

Mr. Orvin Kimbrough, Governor


Present- Clifton Smart III, President

Stephen Foucart, Chief Financial Officer

Penni Groves, General Counsel

Paul Kincaid, Chief of Staff

Dee Siscoe, Vice President for Student Affairs

Mike Wills, Director of Procurement Services

Kevin Greim, Senior Director of Athletics Development

John McAlear, Secretary of the Board

2. Presiding --- The presiding officer for the meeting was Ms. Beverly Miller, Chair of the Board of Governors. She called the conference-call meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. in Carrington Hall, Room 203, on the campus of Missouri State University in Springfield, Missouri.

3. Closed Meeting --- It was determined that the Board of Governors needed to meet in a closed session to consider items of business provided in the Revised Statutes of Missouri. Ms. Miller asked if a resolution authorizing a closed meeting of the Board was prepared. Thereupon, the following resolution was presented for consideration:

BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Governors for Missouri State University that a closed meeting, with closed records and closed vote, be held immediately following this May 7, 2014, special meeting of the Board of Governors to consider items of business pursuant to:

R.S.Mo. 610.021 (12). “Sealed bids and related documents, until the bids are opened; and sealed proposals and related documents or any documents related to a negotiated contract until a contract is executed, or all proposals are rejected;”

Mr. Carmichael moved the approval of the resolution and Ms. Fry seconded the motion.

A roll call vote on the motion was as follows: those voting in favor – Governors Bough, Carmichael, Fry, Hofherr, Miller, Seal, and Tergin; those voting against the motion – none; those absent – Governors Hoven and Kimbrough.

Ms. Miller declared the resolution passed unanimously.

4. Adjournment--- Ms. Miller next adjourned this open meeting at 4:05 p.m., upon the motion of Mr. Hofherr, the second of Mr. Carmichael, and the unanimous vote of the Board.

John W. McAlear