March 23, 2017




THURSDAY, MARCH 23, 2017, 12:30 P.M.



Mr. Kendall Seal, Committee Chair

Mr. Joe Carmichael, Committee Member

Mr. Tyree Davis, Committee Member

Ms. Virginia Fry, Committee Member

Mr. Gabriel Gore, Committee Member

Mr. Stephen Hoven, Committee Member

Ms. Beverly Miller, Committee Member

Mr. Gregory Spears, Committee Member

Ms. Carrie Tergin, Committee Member


Dr. Peter Hofherr, Committee Member

Also Present:

Mr. Clif Smart, President, Missouri State University

Dr. Jim Baker, Vice President for Research and Economic Development & International Programs

Dr. Drew Bennett, Chancellor, Missouri State University, West Plains

Ms. Donna Christian, Director, Internal Audit and Compliance

Mr. Adam Coffman, President, SGA

Mr. Ryan DeBoef, Chief of Staff and Assistant to the President for Governmental Relations

Ms. Rachael Dockery, General Counsel

Ms. Nicki Donnelson, Assistant Director, Communications

Mr. Brent Dunn, Vice President for University Advancement

Dr. Frank Einhellig, Provost

Mr. Craig Frazier, Board Appointee

Mr. Steve Foucart, Chief Financial Officer

Dr. David Hough, Dean, College of Education

Ms. Heather King, Director of Scholarships

Mr. Kyle Moats, Director of Athletics

Mr. Matt Morris, Vice President for Administrative Services

Mr. Jeff Morrissey, Chief Information Officer

Ms. Andrea Mostyn, Director of University Communications

Mr. Wes Pratt, Chief Diversity Officer and Assistant to the President

Ms. Suzanne Shaw, Vice President for Marketing and Communication

Ms. Carol Silvey, Board Appointee

Dr. Jake Simmons, Assistant Professor, Communications

Mr. Don Simpson, Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management Services

Dr. Dee Siscoe, Vice President for Student Affairs

Dr. Michele Smith, Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs

Ms. Olujimi Sode, Assistant Director of Admissions

Ms. Rowena Stone, Executive Assistant to the President

Mr. Ryan Wilson, Chair, Staff Senate

Ms. Kristan Gochenauer, Secretary to the Board of Governors

Motion passed unanimously.

  1. Roll Call – Mr. Kendall Seal, Committee Chair, called the Programs and Planning Committee meeting to order at 12:30 p.m. on Thursday, March 23, 2017, at Hotel Sorella, McCoy AB Conference Room, in Kansas City, Missouri.
  2. Approval of Minutes – Mr. Seal mentioned that the first item of business was the approval of the minutes from the December 15, 2016 meeting. Mr. Gabriel Gore so moved, receiving a second from Mr. Gregory Spears. 
  3. New Business:
    1. Introductions – President Clif Smart introduced our new Board appointees Mr. Craig Frazier, board member of Springfield Innovation Incorporated and Ms. Carol Silvey, Senior Associate for Advancement at the Community Foundation of the Ozarks.
    2. Scholarship Program Overview – Mr. Don Simpson stated that there are three important parts of the enrollment management effort to include 1) scholarship programs 2) what is being done in recruitment and 3) access programs. He then introduced Ms. Heather King who gave an overview of the types of scholarships the University provides, pointing out that in FY2016, 65% of the student body received Pell grant funding. Ms. King then discussed the “intentional strategy” or changes to scholarships and requirements since 2010 at the University.
    3. Update on Diversity Recruitment Initiatives – Mr. Olujimi Sode shared that last year he was tasked with coming up with a plan and creating a guide for recruiting underrepresented students.  As a part of his plan, he denoted the importance of knowing our target audience, removing admission barriers and having direct contact with underrepresented students. 
    4. College Access Programs – Dr. Michele Smith shared the underrepresented student profile, which shows an increase in underrepresented students since 2014. Growth is due in part to access programs as well as campus services being provided at the University to include TRIO, peer mentoring, programing/life skills and intrusive counseling. 
  4. Adjournment – Mr. Seal adjourned the Programs and Planning Committee meeting at 2:32 p.m. on the motion of Mr. Stephen Hoven, the second of Mr. Gore, and the unanimous approval of the committee.    

Kristan Gochenauer

Secretary to the Board