Scholarships and Financial Aid

Funding for your future

The School of Anesthesia awards scholarships to select students. We do not accept scholarship applications.

You can earn a scholarship from the School of Anesthesia based on your clinical excellence or cohort position.

More options

You may also qualify for more university-wide scholarships and financial aid. These require an application.

For more information, refer to the office of student financial aid.

Anesthesia financial aid contact

Person item component: BreannaScanlon
Loading Profile. . .


School of Anesthesia Clinical Scholarship

2018 recipients

  • Faith Lewis
  • Ashley Moore
  • Anya Illyuk

2017 recipients

  • Jerrid Morris
  • Cory Hallacy

Crabtree Scholarship

This fund was established in 2017 by Chris Anne Crabtree CRNA, an MSU School of Anesthesia alumnus. She established the fund to honor her too-soon-taken husband, Jeremy Crabtree. This annual $1,000 scholarship is presented to one MSU School of Anesthesia second year student.

2018 recipients

  • Morgan Gilkerson
  • Tyson Trpkosh

Chris Anne Crabtree and her two children holding a picture of Jeremy Crabtree

Kuhns Scholarship

The Kuhns Scholarship was established in 2018 by Bart Kuhns CRNA, DNAP, and a MSU School of Anesthesia alumnus. This annual $1,000 scholarship is presented to one MSU School of Anesthesia student in the second semester of the program.

Bart Kuhns

Silva Scholarship

John Silva graduated from Southwest Missouri School of Nurse Anesthesia at St. John’s Hospital in Springfield, Missouri, in 1972. He spent 20 outstanding and successful years completing over 20 thousand cases in anesthesia. Silva has retired as a CRNA. He currently co-owns and operates a successful Medical Manufacturing and Distribution Business- Alliance Tech Medical, Inc. The company provides products related to Allergy/Asthma, COPD, and Respiratory diseases.

John Silva

Wade Shipman Memorial Scholarship

The Dr. Wade Shipman Scholarship is a tribute to a man taken too soon, who touched many lives, and will never be forgotten. His legacy continues with this scholarship. We honor him by giving deserving anesthesia students a scholarship in his name. Donations are welcome! The pledge form can be found online at All donations are 100% tax deductible, and 100% of the contributions go to the fund.

2018 recipients

  • Courtney Owens
  • Keaton Todd

2017 recipients:

  • Michelle Belgeri
  • Matt Jones 

2016 recipients

  • Ashley Beeching
  • Bryan Taylor

Wade Shipman