History and Mission


The Staff Advisory Council was originally established by Dr. Marshall Gordon in November 1988 and consisted of eleven staff members from various job classifications. It took some time for the Council to gain momentum, but it really started to take off in 1993 under Dr. Keeling, acting President of the University.

Since its inception in 1988, Staff Senate has been making significant strides for staff by increasing staff involvement on campus and by initiating or assisting in the development of many staff benefits.

Through the years, many staff members have been involved in refining our mission and objectives. In 2001, the Staff Advisory Council became known as Staff Senate.  As a representative body of the University, working with Student Government Association and the Faculty Senate, Staff Senate maintains standing committees and ad-hoc work-groups to support the public affairs mission of the University, plan activities for staff, raise money for scholarships and other worthy causes, advise staff on University resources, communicate information to staff throughout our community, and support the professional and personal development of all staff.

Executive Board

The Staff Senate Executive Board consists of the following officers: Chairperson, Chairperson-Elect/Treasurer, past Chairperson, Secretary, and the Coordinator of Staff Senate Committees.  Additionally, the Chairperson may appoint Assistants to the Chair as nonvoting consolatory members, during that Chairperson's term, who serve to support and provide focus for key initiatives. Staff Senate officers shall be voting members of the Senate with the exception of the Chairperson, who shall vote only in case of tied votes, and the Past Chairperson, who will only serve in an advisory capacity, if they are not currently also serving as a sitting Senator.




Chair Elect


Coordinator of
Staff Senate

2021-2022 Kathleen Hains Gary Wells  William Hader Samantha Francka


Ryan Reed Kathleen Hains Shelly Deckard Heather Moore
2019-2020 A'dja Jones Jimi Sode Shelly Deckard Katrina Chavez
2018-2019 Jonathan Lee A'dja Jones Rut Munoz Aliaga William Hader
2017-2018 Robert Moore Jonathan Lee Jeremy Wright Adja Jones
2016-2017 Ryan Wilson Robert Moore Sandra Johnson Brian Edmond
2015-2016 Christina Bowles Ryan Wilson Robert Moore Gary Stafford
2014-2015 Scott Fiedler Christina Bowles Robert Moore Ryan Wilson
2013-2014 Andrea Weber Scott Fiedler Kelly Cara Christina Bowles
2012-2013 Dixie Williams Andrea Weber Scott Fiedler Kelly Cara
2011-2012 Michael Frizell Dixie Williams Matthew Stubblefield Andrea Weber
2010-2011 Tabitha Haynes Michael Frizell Janelle Melton Dixie Williams
2009-2010 Konya Knackstedt Tabitha Haynes Cindi Barnett  
2008-2009 Casey Comoroski Konya Knackstedt Lenord McGownd  
2007-2008 Kelly Barnts Casey Comoroski Lenord McGownd  
2006-2007 Marline Faherty Kelly Barnts Dianna Thimesch  
2005-2006 Ben Boslaugh Marline Faherty LaDonna Hanson  
2004-2005 Diana Garland Ben Boslaugh Sue Alvers  
2003-2004 Phil Nichols Diana Garland Tami Sutton  
2002-2003 Lisa McEowen-LeVangie Phil Nichols Betty Lewis  
2001-2002 Mary Lynne Golden Lisa McEowen-LeVangie Edie Sartin  
2000-2001 Sara Clark Mary Lynne Golden Diana Garland  
1999-2000 Darren Young Sara Clark Bobbi Anderson  
1998-1999 Sharon Lopinot Darren Young Nancy Copeland  
1997-1998 Debbie Thomas Tina McManus Brenda Espy  
1996-1997 Dale Moore Debbie Thomas Donna Noland  
1995-1996 Randy Blackwood Dale Moore Paula Thurman  
1994-1995 Shirley Randall/
Randy Blackwood
  Paula Thurman  
1993-1994 Marilyn Erhardt/
Shirely Randall
Shirley Randall Debbie Donnellan  
1992-1993 Shirley Randall Marilyn Erhardt Nancy Schanda  
1991-1992 Mike Murphy      
1990-1991 Mike Murphy      
1989-1990 Mike Murphy      
1988-1989 Mark Stillwell/Mike Murphy      
1987-1988 Mark Stillwell