Environmental Impacts

Missouri State University is a multi-campus metropolitan University serving a unique combination of urban and rural environments. The original campus is sited in metropolitan Springfield with additional campuses located in Mountain Grove and West Plains. The University also includes the Darr Agricultural Center in southwest Springfield, Baker’s Acres Observatory in Webster County and the Bull Shoals Research Center in Taney County.

The Springfield campus, comprised of 225 acres near the center of the city, has a student enrollment of about 19,000, employs about 2,800 faculty and staff, and houses approximately 4,000 students in on-campus residence halls. Missouri State-West Plains is structured to meet the needs of a seven-county rural area of south central Missouri. It is located within the City of West Plains. Missouri State-Mountain Grove is a 190-acre campus; home to the Missouri State Fruit Experiment Station and the Viticulture and Enology Science and Technology Alliance (VESTA). It is located just north of Mountain Grove in Wright County.