Missouri State University - West Plains
Culley Crone

Culley Crone

  • Hometown: West Plains, MO
  • Academic Program: AS Child & Family Development

Culley Crone

"They have a great veterans program that made it easy to succeed."

Why did you choose to attend Missouri State-West Plains?? 

It was close to where I currently live. They offered the degree plan I am seeking, and they have a great Veterans program that made it easy to succeed!

How would you describe your experience here?? 

My experience at this university has been a good one for sure! All my classmates and professors have been very kind and helpful! Everyone is positive and relaxed as well. It’s a good vibe here!

What has been your favorite thing about Missouri State-West Plains?

My favorite thing is the program I am in, allowing me to work with children and offering me ways to give back to the community.

What has been your favorite course?? 

My favorite course so far has been Supervised Experience in Child Development Laboratories (CFD 260). I studied one child over the semester then wrote a case study about the development I observed.

How have faculty and staff helped you during your time at Missouri State-West Plains?? 

Veteran Services Coordinator Mark White has made it easy to transition from a service member to a student. Dr. Renee Keith and Dr. Brenda Smith have been exceptional instructors. They are always there to give a helping hand, and they gave me the tools to succeed.

How?did you choose your major?? 

I have four children of my own and knew that I wanted to work with children in the future and be able to find a career where I can make a positive impression in children’s lives. With a degree in Child and Family Development, I can apply for more than 100 jobs involving children and families.

What have you learned from?child and family development that will help you succeed in your education, career or life?

Every child and family has a story. Patience and understanding in this field are a must.

What are your plans after graduation?? 

I plan to transfer to MSU-Springfield next year to complete my bachelor’s degree in child and family development. I want to find a job at as an elementary school teacher’s aide or work in a daycare setting.