Sustainability Advisory Committee

Reports to the President

Purpose: To develop recommendations for new sustainability initiatives and for improving current sustainability initiatives. The committee will address issues from recycling, to efficiency, to construction and renovation of facilities, and beyond. The committee will also work on realistic strategies to increase the use of renewable energy so that the University becomes less dependent on coal over time, keeping in mind that recommendations for increasing the use of renewable energy must come with and estimated funding cost.

Matt Morris, Vice President for Administrative Services, Co-Chair
Tammy Jahnke, Dean for College of Natural and Applied Science, Co-Chair
Jordan Schanda, Sustainability Coordinator
Libby Cantrell, President-Students for a Sustainable Future/MSU
Bill Cheek, Faculty Emeritus
Brandon McCoy, President, Student Government Association
Jennifer Cox, Assistant to the Vice President for Administrative Services
Olivia Rowland, Student Government Association-Sustainability Director
Tyree Davis, SGA/Board of Governors’ Student Governor
Teresa Frederick, Assistant Director Res. Life Housing and Dining-Fac & Op
*Tiffany Frey, Executive Director for James River Basin Partnership
Tony Hein, Resident District Manager, Chartwells Residential Dining Office
Pilar Karlen, Energy Manager
Morgan Wetzel, Student Government Association, Chief Sustainability Commissioner
Mike Kromrey, Executive Director, Watershed Committee of the Ozarks
Barbara Lucks, Sustainability Officer, Department of Environmental Services, City of Springfield
Cara Shaefer, Director, Energy Services & Renewables, City Utilities
David Vaughan, Director Environmental Management, Environmental Health & Safety
Emily Yeap, Public Relations Specialist, University Communications
Nicole Young, Resident Dining Manager, Chef, Dining Services
Bernard Kitheka, Assistant Professor, Kinesiology
Mike Wills, Director Procurement
Etta Madden, Director of English Graduate Studies
Paul Durham, Distiguished Professor of Biology
Jerry Compton, Project Manager/Architect for Planning, Design and Construction

*Brent Stock will be attending in Tiffany Frey’s absence representing James River Basin Partnership as needed.

Return to committees handbook index