College Councils

Purpose: The primary purpose of each discipline-based undergraduate college council is to act upon curricular matters that are referred to it by academic departments within the college.

Powers: Each discipline-based undergraduate college council is empowered to approve a departmental proposal, reject and return a proposal to the originating academic department, or amend and approve the proposal.

Membership: A discipline-based undergraduate college council shall consist of one member from each academic department of the college, and one student representative, majoring in a discipline in that college. The academic dean of the college shall be an ex officio member of the council without vote. Each college council member shall serve for a term of two years and may be reelected for one immediately succeeding term but shall not then be eligible for reelection until after the lapse of an intervening year.  Department heads are not eligible for election except in the case where a department head is the only member of an academic department.

Arts & Letters 

Chair: Scott Cameron
AR, Deidre Argyle, 2020
CM, Erin Wehrman, 2020
EN, Lyn Gattis, 2020
FL, Vanessa Rodriguez, 2019
MJ, Weiyan Wang, 2019
MU, Scott Cameron, 2019
TD, Telory Arendell, 2019


Chair: Jason DeBode, MG
AC, Mike Hammond, 2019
FG, Walt Nelson, 2019
FI, Sandy Bailey, 2019
TM, Martin Jones, 2018
MG, Jason Debode, 2018
MK, Ronald Clark, 2019


Chair: Rebecca Crowder, GL
CL, Paris DePaepe  2020
EF, Sabrina Brinson, 2019
GL, Rebecca Crowder, 2019
RF, Pam Correll,  2020

Health & Human Services

Chair: David Carr, SM
BS, Scott Zimmerman, 2019
CD, Thomas Franklin, 2019
HR, Riley Galloway, 2020
NR, Louise Bigley, 2020
PT, Sean Newton, 2020
PN, Kim Cook, 2019
PY, Lisa Hall, 2018
SM, David Carr, 2019
SW, Rose Korang-Okrah, 2019

Humanities & Public Affairs

Chair: Sara Henary, PS
CR, Michael Suttmoeller, 2019 (rplc Julie Baldwin and Bernie McCarthy)
EC, Haydory Akbar Ahmed, 2020    
HI, David Gutzke, 2020
MS, TBA, 2018
PH, Ralph Shain, 2019
PS, Sara Henary, 2019 (rplc Jim Kaatz)
RE, Vadim Putzu, 2019
SO, Lyle Foster, 2020

Natural & Applied Sciences

Chair: Gigi Saunders, BI
BI, Gigi Saunders, 2020
CH, Matthew Siebert, 2019
CS, Tony Clark, 2019
GG, Mathew McKay, 2019
HL, Albert Barreda, 2019
MA, Steven Senger, 2020
PA, Bob Patterson, 2020

Darr College of Agriculture

Chair: Elizabeth Walker, AS
AB, Jim Hutter,  2019
AS, Elizabeth Walker, 2020
PS, Melissa Remley, 2019

Return to committees handbook index