Council on General Education & Intercollege Programs (CGEIP)

Purpose: This Council shall act upon all curricular proposals affecting the General Education Program as well as courses and programs offered collaboratively by Academic Departments/Schools in two or more colleges (i.e. Intercollegiate programs not routed to EPPC or Graduate Council).

Powers: This Council is empowered to approve curricular proposals, reject and return proposals to the College Council(s) that submitted it/them, or amend and approve the proposals.

Membership: The Council shall be comprised of two persons from each undergraduate College (with the exception of University College) and the Chair-elect of the Faculty Senate, an ex-officio member without vote.  Members shall serve for a term of three (3) years and may not be reelected for a succeeding term until after the lapse of an intervening year.  At the first organizational meeting, one (1), two (2), and three (3) year terms shall be drawn by lot, so that one-third of the council has each term length.  Thereafter, members shall serve staggered three (3) year terms, so that one-third of the membership shall be replaced each year.  The Provost or a designate of the Provost shall be an ex-officio member without vote. The Director of the Center for Assessment and Instructional Support shall be an ex-officio member without vote.

Chair: LeAnn Brazeal
Secretary: Grace Jackson-Brown

Arts & Letters

TBA, 2019
LeAnn Brazeal, CM, 2020


Y. Jenny Zhang, FGB, 2020
Kevin Hubbard, IM, 2019


Maia Moore, CLSE, 2020
Sascha Mowry, CEFS, 2021

Health & Human Services

TBA, 2019
Ruth Walker, PSY, 2021

Humanities & Public Affairs

Thornton Miller, HI, 2019
John Strong, REL, 2018 (rplc C. Patrick Scott)

Natural & Applied Sciences

Laura (Michelle) Bowe, BI, 2020
Richard Biagioni, CH, 2021


Nathan Fent, AGS, 2021
Sarah Lancaster, AGP, 2020

Library Services

Grace Jackson-Brown, LIS, 2020

Provost’s Designate (ex-officio): Rachelle Darabi
Faculty Senate Chair-Elect (ex-officio): Saibal Mitra
Director of the Center for Assessment and Instructional Support, FCTL (ex-officio): Keri Franklin

Return to committees handbook index