Graduate Council

Purpose: The primary purpose of the Graduate Council is to act upon graduate level curricular matters that are referred to it by academic departments/schools.

Powers: The Graduate Council is empowered, for courses numbered 600 or higher. The council shall recommend the approval of a curricular proposal, reject and return a proposal to the college council(s) that submitted it, or amend and recommend approval of the proposal. A proposal may be withdrawn from consideration without motion or vote by the originating units before final disposition by the council upon specific request to the council chair. All curricular proposals recommended for approval by the council, amended or not amended, shall be forwarded to the Secretary of the Faculty for disposition as described in ART IV. Other responsibilities include program planning, curricular control and policy-making for the Graduate College.

Membership: The Graduate Council shall consist of the Chair, one member of the graduate faculty of each department/school offering one or more graduate degree programs, or in the case of an interdisciplinary program, a representative from the sponsoring college, and a representative of the Graduate Student Council. The term of office for members of the Graduate Council is two years. A Graduate Council member may be elected for two consecutive terms, but following the second term shall not be eligible to serve until after the lapse of an intervening year. A person elected Chair of the Graduate Council during their second term as member may serve out their term as Chair. Upon completion of the term as Chair that person shall not be eligible to serve on the Graduate Council until after the lapse of an intervening year. Department Heads are not eligible for election except in the case where a department head is the only graduate faculty member in the department/school.


Elizabeth King

Darr College of Agriculture

Benjamin Onyango, MSAgr, 2024
Melissa Bledsoe, MSPS, 2023

Reynolds College of Arts and Letters

Sarah William, ART, 2024
Erin Wehrman, COM, 2023
Rhonda Stanton, ENG, 2024
Cristina Pippa, MJF, 2024
Antoinette Barffour, WLC, 2023
Michael Murray, MUS, 2024

College of Business

Chris Hines, ACC, 2023
Seth Hoelscher, FGB, 2024
Deepti Agrawal, ITC, 2023
Jason DeBode, MGT, 2024
Wes Friske, MKT, 2024
Pouya Derayati, MBA, 2023
Nebil Buyurgan, TCM, 2023

College of Education

Elizabeth King, CEFS ,2024
Karrie Swan, CLSE, 2024
Ching-Wen Chang, RFT, 2024
Travis Seay, MSEd, 2023

College of Humanities and Public Affairs

Aida Hass, CCJ, 2023
Vacant, DSS, 2024
Sandy Panzer, HST, 2024
James Kaatz, PLS, 2024
Mark Given, REL, 2024

McQueary College of Health and Human Services

Tracy Beckham, ANE, 2023
Amy Hulme, BMS, 2024
Abdullah Jamos, CSD, 2024
Rebecca Woodard, KIN, 2024
Debbie Horine, NUR, 2023
Ashlea Cardin, OT, 2024
Andrew Ward, PT, 2024
Andrea Applegate, PAS, 2024
McCall Christian, PHSM, 2023
Amber Abernathy, PSY, 2023
Qiang Chen, SWK, 2022

College of Natural and Applied Science

Debra Finn, BIO ,2024
Fei Wang, CHM, 2024
Lloyd Smith, CSC, 2023
Matt McKay, GGP, 2024
Nancy Kageyama, HL, 2024
Yingcai Su, MTH, 2023
Melanie Carden-Jessen, NAS, 2023
David Cornelison, PAMS, 2023

Graduate College

Travis Seay, MPS, 2023
Vacant, Prof. Studies, 2024

Ex-Officio Members

Gerald Masterson, Master of Professional Studies 2023
Chris Herr, Faculty Senate Past-Chair, ex officio
Katrina Chavez, Office of the Registrar, ex officio
Lindsey Taggart, LIBR, ex officio
Algerian Hart, Graduate College, ex officio
Julie Masterson, Graduate College, ex officio
TBA, Graduate Student Council Member, ex officio


Updated September 14, 2022

Return to committees handbook index