First-Year Council

Reports to the the Executive Vice President

Purpose: To advise the Director of First-Year Programs and the Associate Provost for Student Development and Public Affairs on initiatives involving the first-year experience (FYE) at Missouri State University. This includes but not limited to: 1) developing a first-year philosophy statement and over-arching goals for the program; 2) evaluating the effectiveness of GEP 101, and making recommendations to the Director concerning changes to the course designed to increase academic excellence, enhance student success, and integrate the public affairs mission; 3) providing assistance with the learning communities and common reader programs; 4) serving as a liaison with other departments/colleges/student affairs as part of a larger effort to inform and address issues involving first-year students.

Membership: Members serve three-year terms. Student members will be appointed as needed to accommodate graduations.

Minor Baker, COE
Stephen Berkwitz, CHPA
Crystal Dicke, LIBR
Toby Dogwiler, CNAS
Scott Handley, Honors College
Rob Moore, Financial Aid
Linda Moser, COAL
Sarah Murray, CHHS
Carly Pierson, COB
Christine Sudbrock, COA
Georgia Wright, Student Rep
Tracey Glaessgen, ex officio
Kelly Wood, ex officio

Updated July 19, 2023

Return to committees handbook index