Missouri State University

Veteran Student Services

Missouri Returning Heroes Education Act : Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Missouri Returning Heroes Education Act?

The Missouri Returning Heroes Education Act is a Missouri law that requires public postsecondary institutions to limit eligible combat veterans' tuition to $50 per credit hour.

What are the eligibility requirements? 

•    A veteran must have served in an armed combat zone anytime between September 11, 2001 and the present. The combat 
     zone is designated by the U.S. Department of Defense and can typically be found on a veteran's DD-214.
•    When first entering the military, a veteran must have been a Missouri resident.
•    A veteran must have been honorably discharged from military service.
•    A veteran must be enrolled in a program that is leading to an undergraduate certificate, or an associate or baccalaureate degree.

Can a member of the Reserves or National Guard be considered for tuition reduction?

Yes, if he/she served in an armed combat zone under a call of active service and in a full-time capacity for more than 30 consecutive days.

How do I apply for Missouri Returning Heroes?


An application can be found on the Veteran Student Services website at www.missouristate.edu/veterans/

What is the value of Missouri Returning Heroes?

The value is determined for each individual based on current enrollment and other financial assistance. We will subtract from the veterans tuition any gift aid that is designated for tuition and fees, such as, but not limited to, Pell Grants, Access Missouri, Tuition Assistance or tuition payments paid through Post 9-11 GI Bill or Veterans Vocational Rehabilitation. From the balance, we will subtract the number of credit hours multiplied by $50 (the tuition limit established by the legislation). Any remaining amount will be credited to the veterans account unless that amount, when combined with other financial aid (including loans and GI Bill benefits not earmarked for tuition) exceeds the cost of attendance. The following is an example of how the University will determine benefits based on 2011-2012 Missouri State University fees.

Example:
Jacob is enrolled in 12 credit hours for the fall 2011 semester and tuition is $194 per credit hour. He is receiving $500 in Pell Grant, $5,000 in GI Bill benefits that are not designated solely for tuition and fees and $2,000 in Stafford Loans. His tuition waiver will be $1,228.

12 x $194 = $2,328 tuition
          (less) $500 Pell Grant   
                    $1828 Amount of tuition after subtracting the aid that is required to be subtracted
          (less) $600  (12 x $50)
                   $1,228 Amount of tuition waiver unless it exceeds total cost of attendance
                   
Examples of gift aid, but not limited to, that will be applied to the veterans account before determining the amount of Missouri Returning Heroes for which he/she may be eligible.

Pell Grant
SEOG Grant
Bright Flight
Marguerite Ross Barnett Scholarship
Teach Grant
Access Missouri
Tuition Assistance
Veterans Vocational Rehabilitation
Post 9-11 (Ch.33) Tuition Payments

 

Examples of gift aid that will not be applied to the veterans account before determining the amount of Missouri Returning Heroes for which he/she may be eligible.

Federal Stafford Loans
GI Bill benefits not designated solely for tuition and fees

How will the tuition reduction be applied?


Once a veteran is determined to be eligible for the Missouri Returning Heroes Education Act by Veteran Student Services, the Office of Student Financial Aid will determine the amount of the waiver. The waiver will then be applied to the veterans account.
    
Is the amount of the benefit subject to change?

Yes. Because the final amount is determined after financial assistance is considered, a tuition waiver may be adjusted as additional financial assistance is awarded.

Is a veteran required to apply for financial aid or GI Bill benefits?


No, the state does not require a veteran to apply for either.

Is there a GPA requirement to be eligible?

Although there is no initial GPA requirement, a veteran must maintain a 2.50 cumulative, University GPA in order to be eligible for the following semester.