Board of Governors

Missouri State University is under the general control and management of the Board of Governors, which according to statutes of the state of Missouri, possesses full power and authority to adopt all needful rules and regulations for the guidance and supervision of the University.

Currently, Missouri State University is governed by a nine-member Board of Governors. All members are appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Missouri Senate, to serve six-year terms.

At least one but not more than two voting members shall be appointed from each congressional district in Missouri. A non-voting member, a current Missouri State University student, also sits on the Board.

Current members

Beverly Miller

Fourth District
1/3/2012 to 1/1/2015

Stephen B. Hoven

Second District
(Vice Chair)
10/31/2011 to 1/1/2017

Orvin Kimbrough

First District
2/9/2009 to 1/1/2015

Carrie TerginCarrie Tergin

Third District
1/9/2013 to 1/1/2015

Stephen Bough

Fifth District
11/10/2011 to 1/1/2013

Kendall SealKendall Seal

Sixth District
10/11/2013 to 1/1/2019

Joe Carmichael

Seventh District
1/9/2013 to 1/1/2017

Virginia FryVirginia Fry

Seventh District
10/11/2013 to 1/1/2019

Peter Hofherr

Eighth District
10/31/2011 to 1/1/2017

Caleb DoyleCaleb Doyle

Student Member
6/2/2014 to 12/31/2015