Provost's Academic Advising Council

Council Charge

The purpose of the Academic Advising Council is to evaluate the administration and delivery of advising services to all students at Missouri State University and to make recommendations for improvements. The Council will identify current advising practices that are successful and encourage those practices among more advisors. The Academic Advising Council will work to enhance consistency and quality within the advising system and support student development initiatives. The Academic Advising Council is available for consultation as policy decisions are made that affect academic advising practice at Missouri State University.

Standing Members (2013-2014)

  • Tracie Burt, Instructor/Advisement Coordinator, Psychology, CHHS
  • Sandy Culver, Director, Business Advisement Center
  • Rachelle Darabi, Associate Provost for Student Development and Public Affairs
  • Kathy Davis, Director, Academic Advisement Center
  • Gail Emrie, History, Secondary Education
  • Nathan Hoff, Office of the Registrar
  • Monica Jones, Assistant Athletic Director for Academic and Student Services
  • Tom Tomasi, Associate Dean, Graduate College

Rotating Members (2013-2014)

  • Steve Berkwitz, Religious Studies, CHPA (member through May 2015)
  • Randy Dillon, Communication, COAL (member through May 2014)
  • Tracey Glaessgen, Student Development and Public Affairs (chair through May 2014)
  • Diane Leamy, Senior Instructor, Criminology, CHPA (member through May 2014)
  • Brittany Lescano, Business Advisement Center, professional academic advisor representative (member through May 2015)
  • Carol Maples, Theatre and Dance, COAL (member through May 2015)
  • Hillary Mayes, Instructor, CHHS (member through May 2014)
  • Judy Pickering, Professional Education Advisement Center (member through May 2015)
  • Joshua Smith, Biomedical Sciences, CHHS (member through May 2015)
  • Diann Thomas, Chemistry, CNAS (member through May 2015)