Missouri State University

Faculty Senate

A Message from the Faculty Senate Chair

Faculty Senate Chair Ryan Giedd

Welcome to the Missouri State University Faculty Senate website.

The Faculty Senate is the representative body for the over 700 full-time faculty at Missouri State University.  Membership includes voting representatives from every department and from each of the faculty ranks, as well as non-voting delegates from Staff Senate, Student Government Association, the Graduate Student Council, and each of the standing Senate committees.  At regular monthly sessions and throughout the year in committee work, the Senate oversees curricular issues and provides the administration and Board of Governors with faculty perspectives and recommendations on matters of concern to faculty.

This academic year (2013-14), in addition to our regular duties, we will be working on the septennial Faculty Handbook review and revision. Starting in the fall the University will also begin the search for the next Provost.

Use this website to find the current month’s Faculty Senate meeting dates (where all are welcome), links to agendas and attachments, minutes, the most current roster, curricular information and committee schedules and updates. Complete information and rules concerning the Faculty Senate and its committees can be found in The Constitution and Bylaws of the Faculty.

Faculty governance is essential for the superior operation of a well functioning university. Remember that the principle contact of a University to its students is through its faculty and our curriculum. Even if you are not a member of the Faculty Senate please participate. There are many important committees where your input will be valued. We are always looking for faculty members who value our work and are willing to find some time during busy schedules to become part of the faculty governance process.

Please do not hesitate to contact me or the Faculty Senate Office if you would like to serve on a Senate committee or desire more information. I look forward to serving you as Chair for the 2013-14 year, and working with you to make Missouri State an inclusive and transparent place to teach, serve, and participate in scholarly activity.

Dr. Ryan Giedd, Senate Chair, 2013–2014, 836-8729


2013–14 Faculty Senate Executive Committee

Chair – Dr. Ryan Giedd
Chair-Elect – Dr. Stephen McIntyre
Secretary – Ms. Kathryn Gibson
Parliamentarian – Dr. Jeremy Chesman

Faculty Senate Office - CARR 314C - 836-5257

Sandra Johnson, CAP
Administrative Specialist III