January 10, 2002 Minutes

1. Call to Order - A regular meeting of the Staff Senate of Missouri State University was called to order at Plaster Student Union, Room 313 at 1:30 p.m.

2. Roll Call -

Present - John Avery, Mark Barton, Chris Brown, Kelly Brown, Patrick Byers, Belinda Davis, Ed DeLong, Chuck Donald, Mary Lynne Golden, Betty Lewis, David Liss, Lisa McEowen-LeVangie, Steve Mills, Charles Mitchell, Lisa Reed, Alan Roland, Edie Sartin, Myril Stewart, Ron Boaz, Sara Clark, Diana Garland, Sharon Lopinot, Ken McCrory, Phil Nichols

Absent - SuzAnn Ferguson, Fran Phillips, Gary L.R. Smith, Chris Stodtman

Sara Clark, Out‐going Chairperson, presided and Diana Garland and Edie Sartin recorded the proceedings of the meeting. Mary Lynne Golden, Chairperson presided for the second half of the meeting.

December minutes were approved.

3. Welcome to New Senators - New senators are: Mark Barton, Patrick Byers, Belinda Davis, Chuck Donald, SuzAnn Ferguson, Alan Roland, Gary L.R. Smith, Chris Strodtman.

4. Thank you to out-going senators - Sara thanked senators for their work with Senate and presented them with a certificate of appreciation. Out-going senators include: Sara Clark, Diana Garland, Ron Boaz, Sharon Lopinot, Kenneth McCrory, Steve Mills (who will be continuing for a second term), Charles Mitchell, and Phil Nichols.

5. Call for officers - Sara Clark - After 2000-2001 officers discussed duties in their respective offices, a call for nominations was made. The following senators were elected as officers for the 2001-2002 calendar year. Mary Lynne Golden will move from chair-elect to chair, Lisa McEowen-LeVangie will hold the position of chair-elect, Edie Sartin will be staff senate secretary.

6. Discussion and Prioritization of Issues for Next Year - Sara Clark - Sara is preparing a letter to Dr. Keiser to present three issues resulting from the 2001 Staff Survey. Those issues are: increasing the vacation accrual rate for classified staff, funding the staff awards proposal, and raising the amount of credits waived from 12 to 15 per year. Additional topics discussed by senate members were: taking the cap off vacation accrual, allowing immediate family to use the fitness facilities, and short-term disability. Steve Mills suggested that the new senators have the opportunity to review the survey results and look for ideas for the year ahead.

7. Call for new representative on the Faculty Senate - Mary Lynne Golden - Mary Lynne asked for a new representative (classified) for the Faculty Senate. Lisa McEowen-
LeVangie agreed to serve as the Staff Senate classified representative on the Faculty Senate.

8. Report from December President's Cabinet - Sara Clark -

  • SGA is investigating adding a fall holiday break to the calendar. They're working with the University calendar committee.
  • Student Affairs is looking at the Student Health coverage.
  • The report and suggestions are back from Noel Levitz.
  • The climbing wall to be installed with Wyrick Commission funds came in over bid, the project is still pending.
  • The Board of Governors will discuss the Exigency Policy at their meeting January 18.
  • Motor pool policy is being updated.

9. Announcements -

The next meeting of the Staff Senate will be held Thursday, February 7, 2002, at 1:30 p.m. in Plaster Student Union 313.

A motion to adjourn was made, seconded and passed. Staff Senate adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:
Edie Sartin
Staff Senate