What can the FCTL do for you?

Using Ally to Create Accessible Documents

Please join Eric Taylor from the Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning and Twon Madison from the Access Technology Center for an afternoon session on creating accessible documents using Blackboard Ally. All MSU Staff, Faculty, Graduate and Teaching Assistants are welcome! Register now through My Learning Connection or by contacting fctl@missouristate.edu.

Topics to be covered:

Evaluating course materials using Blackboard Ally

Editing course materials using Microsoft Office

Managing and uploading accessible documents

Best practices for crafting accessible materials

Each session will be approximately one hour in length. Participants are encouraged to bring their laptop and example documents with them.  All sessions are in the FCTL Conference Room, LIBR 204.

Monday, September 23 – 10:00-11:00 a.m.

Wednesday, September 25 – 2:00-3:00 p.m.

Tuesday, October 1 – 2:00-3:00 p.m.

Thursday, October 3 – 10:00-11:00 a.m.

Monday, October 7 – 2:00-3:00 p.m.

Wednesday, October 9 – 10:00-11:00 a.m.

Tuesday, October 15 – 10:00-11:00 a.m.

Monday, October 21 – 10:00-11:00 a.m.

Wednesday, October 23 – 2:00-3:00 p.m.

Tuesday, October 29 – 2:00-3:00 p.m.
 


Online Course Development Boot Camp

The Online Course Development Boot Camp is an immersive-style workshop which will provide faculty with hands-on training and work time to develop an online course.  At the end of the boot camp, you will have developed a significant portion of your course and earn a badge which applies toward an online course certification.

Sessions will also be offered in January 2020. Email the Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning to reserve your spot.

Not available to attend any of those sessions? Contact the fctl@missouristate.edu to schedule an appointment with one of our instructional designers. You can work with them in a self-paced model around your schedule and in most cases complete your course by the end of the semester.


Mini Diversity Workshops Fall 2019

All sessions are in the FCTL Conference room and hosted by Dr. Judith Martinez. Please register through MyLearning Connection.

Mini Diversity Session 1: Microaggressions: Supporting and Empowering Students
This session will examine the levels of microaggressions, effects and different ways to address them. Opportunities for immediate application(s) will be discussed in an interactive forum.

September 17, Tuesday 3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
September 18, Wednesday 8:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Mini Diversity Session 2: Teaching and Learning Respect and Acceptance in the Classroom
This session will examine different ways to promote, encourage and develop an inclusive environment in the classroom. Opportunities for immediate application(s) will be discussed in an interactive forum.

October 23, Wednesday 3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
October 24, Thursday 8:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Mini Diversity Session 3: Inclusive Assessment
This session will examine inclusive assessment practices that promote fairness to students from different backgrounds. Opportunities for immediate application(s) will be discussed in an interactive forum.

November 13, Wednesday 3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
November 14, Thursday 8:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Mini Diversity Session 4: Addressing Diversity Challenges in the Classroom and Difficult Conversations
This session will explore some of the challenges to address difficult conversations in the classroom and discuss ways to overcome this matter. Opportunities for immediate application(s) will be discussed in an interactive forum.

December 4, Wednesday 3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
December 5, Thursday 8:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Please register through MyLearning Connection.


2019 Book Talks: Station Eleven

All sessions are in the FCTL Conference room and hosted by Dr. Judith Martinez. Please register through MyLearning Connection.

September 25, Wednesday 12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.
October 16, Wednesday 12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.
November 20, Wednesday 12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.

Come join us for an exciting discussion about this year common reader book STATION ELEVEN by Emily St. John Mandel.


Register for the 2019 Fall Faculty Writing Retreats

The Faculty Write Program focuses on promoting faculty productivity and camaraderie through writing-based experiences such as interdisciplinary writing retreats held twice a month, workshops, and 10-day writing challenges. Writing retreats include lunch, opportunities to develop a strong network of peer support and accountability, and voluntary feedback sessions.

Sessions are facilitated by Dr. Etta Madden and held in the Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning, Meyer Library room 204, from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

2019 Fall Faculty Writing Retreats

FREE for all MSU faculty and staff; a light breakfast and lunch will be provided each day.  
Email  Dr. Etta Madden (ettamadden@MissouriState.edu) if you have any questions.

Thursday, September 12
Friday, September 27
Thursday, October 17
Friday, October 25
Thursday, November 7
Friday, November 22
Monday-Tuesday, December 16-17

2020 Spring Faculty Writing Retreats

Friday, January 24
Thursday, February 6
Friday, February 21
Thursday, March 5
Friday, March 27
Thursday, April 16
Friday, April 24
Monday-Tuesday, May 18-19

Please register through MyLearning Connection.


Captioning Videos Using Microsoft Stream

Topics to be covered:

 

Using the Mediasite Desktop Recorder

Managing and sharing recorded presentations

Using Microsoft Stream

Caption file management/compatibility

Each session will be approximately one hour in length. It is strongly suggested that you bring a laptop with you so that you may follow along during the workshop. Open to all current faculty, staff, graduate and teaching assistants.

Tuesday, October 1

Thursday, October 3

Monday, October 7

Wednesday, October 9

 

All sessions are 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. and held in the FCTL Room 204.

Register through MyLearning Connection or contact the FCTL at 417-836-3059.


Support for Online Course Development

The FCTL has instructional designers that are available to work with you throughout the course development process. They can assist you in using technology and creating an online or blended course that is of the same high standards as your traditional lecture-based course. For more information email FCTL@MissouriState.edu or call 417-836-3059.

For more information on any of these events and opportunities, please contact the Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning at fctl@missouristate.edu.