FCTL Advisory Council

Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning Advisory Council

FCTL Advisory Council members support implementation of the Center’s mission and serve as liaisons between the instructional community and the FCTL.  A council member is selected from each college and represents the interests and needs of that college when planning FCTL faculty development activities.  Additionally, members promote participation in FCTL events by their college faculty and encourage their use of Center resources.  Each member serves a two-year term, and terms are staggered across colleges.

In addition to their role in the overall FCTL agenda, Advisory Council members engage in individual projects that are supported by the Center.  For example, they may lead a discussion group of faculty from their college that focuses on pedagogical issues specific to their disciplines or a discussion group of multidisciplinary faculty who focus on a single topic related to teaching and learning.  Council members also could lead a faculty reading group on a book related to higher education.

Purpose: To support the FCTL’s general mission and to advise the Assistant Director and staff on services and programs supporting faculty in their roles as teachers, learners, and scholars.

2017-2018 Council Members:

Eric Nelson; FCTL Faculty Fellow Chair
Lora Hobbs; CHPA   2016
Beth Hurst; COE 2016
Chuck Hermans; COB 2017
Cherri Jones; LIB 2017
Leslie Echols; CHHS 2016
Deborah Larson; COAL 2016
Katie Frederick-Hudson; CNAS 2017
Marilyn Odneal; AGR 2017
Jeff Thomas; Adjunct Faculty 2017

Ex-officio Members:

Nancy Gordon; Director, FCTL

Adena Young-Jones; Provost Fellow for Diversity

Mandy Benedict-Chambers ; Provost Appointment to Faculty Writing Retreat

Tom Dicke; Faculty Senate Chair Elect

Rachelle Darabi; Associate Provost, Student Development & Public Affairs

Chris Craig; Associate Provost, Faculty Affairs

Non-voting ex-officio Members:

Kristi Oetting; Technical Training and Documentation, Computer Services User Support

Gary Radar; MS Online, Access and Outreach

Term of Service:

The FCTL Advisory Council is comprised of seven (7) ranked faculty members, each representing their college and named by their respective Deans; two (2) Provost Fellows, named by the Provost; and the Chair of the Faculty Senate. Faculty members serve a two-year term. Ex-officio members include the Director of the Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning; the Associate Provost for Student Development and Public Affairs; and the Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs. The Chair of the Faculty Senate and the two (2) Provost Fellows will be appointed to the committee on a yearly basis.