Faculty Senate

Purpose: Actions, as perfected and passed by the Faculty Senate, represent the collective reasoning of the Faculty through its governance process as to policies and procedures to be followed by the University and are communicated to the University Administration for approval and implementation.

Resolutions passed by the Faculty Senate state the collective reasoning of the Faculty Senate on specific issues and shall be forwarded for information to the appropriate Administrators.

Membership: There are two classes of membership in the Faculty Senate: voting members (designated as senators) and non-voting members (designated as delegates). The voting membership of the Faculty Senate shall consist of the following senators: the Chair of the Senate; the Chair-Elect of the Senate; the Secretary of the Faculty; representatives of academic departments, one senator from each academic department; one representative from the instructors; one from clinical faculty; and representatives of the ranked faculty, one senator from each rank: (a) assistant professor, (b) associate professor, (c) full or distinguished professor.  Eligible department representatives include all ranked faculty, as well as those instructors and clinical faculty who have served no less than two consecutive academic years at Missouri State University by the September session of their term. Ranked faculty refers to tenure-track/tenured Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, or Professor or Distinguished Professor. Those who hold administrative appointments at or above head level of academic department are not eligible to serve as senators. Exception to this rule: if an academic department/school has three or fewer eligible representatives, then the head may serve as senator.


Chair: Tom Dicke, 2019
Chair-elect: Saibal Mitra, 2019
Secretary: Elizabeth Walker, 2019


Mike Hudson, 2019

Rank and Lecture Senators

Randy Dillon (Professor), 2020
Daniel Hellman (Associate Professor), 2019
Marlin Barber (Assistant Professor), 2020
Jay Howard (Instructor), 2019
Tara Stulce (Clinical Faculty), 2019

Non-Voting Delegates:

TBA, (SGA rep), 2019
TBA (GSS rep), 2019
Jon Lee (Staff Delegate), 2019
LeAnn Brazeal (CGEIP Chair), 2019
Adam Harbaugh (EPPC Chair), 2019
Rebecca Swearingen (B&P Chair), 2019
TBA (FCC Chair), 2019
Elizabeth Dudash-Buskirk (Grad Council Chair), 2019
TBA (Rules Chair), 2019

Arts & Letters

AR, Steve Willis, 2019
CM, John Bourhis, 2020
EN, Ken Gillam, 2019
FL, Joseph Hughes, 2019
MJ, Mark Paxton, 2019
MU, Paula Patterson, 2020
TD, Sarah Wilcoxon, 2020


AC, Michael Hammond, 2020
FG, James Philpot, 2019
FI, Jenifer Roberts, 2019
IM, Martin Jones, 2019
MG, Glenn Pace, 2019
MK, Alex Hamwi, 2018


CL, Kim Finch, 2020
EF, Jim Meyer, 2019
GL, Vickie Sutton, 2020
RF, Kayla Lewis, 2019

Health & Human Services

BS, Rich Garrad, 2020
CD, Alana Kozlowski, 2019
HR, Melinda Novik, 2020
NR, Louise Bigley, 2020
OT, Traci Garrison, 2020
PN, TBA, 2020
PT, Jason Shaw, 2020
PY, Jack Rosenkoetter, 2019
SM, Allan Liggett, 2019
SW, Darryl Haslam, 2019

Humanities & Public Affairs

CR, Patrick Gartin, 2019
DS, None, 2019
EC, Subhasree Basu Roy, 2019 (rplc Mahua Mitra)
HI, Steve McIntyre, 2020
MS, None, 2018
PH, Daniel Kaufman, 2019
PS, Yuhua Qiao, 2020
RE, Austra Reinis, 2020
SO, Suzanne Walker-Pacheco, 2019 (rplc Liz Sobel)

Natural & Applied Sciences

BI, John Heywood, 2019
CH, Matthew Siebert, 2020
CS, Ken Vollmar, 2020
GG, Damon Bassett, 2020
MA, Cameron Wickham, 2019
PA, Ridwan Sakidja, 2019
HL, Dan Crafts, 2019

Darr College of Agriculture

PS, Will McClain, 2020
AS, Phillip Lancaster, 2019
AB, Katelyn McCoy, 2019


LI, Tracy Stout, 2019

Return to committees handbook index