Fall 2006 Scholarship Banquet

The College of Humanities and Public Affairs and its various Departments offer a wide variety of scholarships to their majors and minors. These endowed scholarships were created through the generous contributions of alumni, faculty, and friends. As a way of bringing donors and recipients together, the Dean sponsors a scholarship banquet each fall. As Dean Lorene Stone noted in her remarks to the over 50 people attending this year's banquet, this event provides an opportunity to put a face with the name on the scholarship letter and may well spark a long term relationship. It is our hope, of course, that these scholarship recipients will become donors themselves one day and thus continue the tradition of supporting education at Missouri State University. Click here to learn more about CHPA scholarships.

Fosters06Among those attending this year's event were Mr. Tony Foster and his wife Lyn. They have endowed scholarships that support students in several Departments in CHPA. This year's recipients of the Robert A. Foster History Scholarship is Amanda M. Nichols and the recipient of the Robert A. Foster Philosophy Scholarship is Emma Chapman.

 Representing the Tom Strong family was Dr. John Strong, a member of the Religious Studies faculty, who had the opportunity to interact with two of the recipients of the Strong Family Graduate Scholarship. Both Steven Faust and Jane (Shengjie) Shen are working on their masters degree in International Affairs and Administration.

Scholarship recipients from the Philosophy Department shared a table with Dr. Bill Brown (emeritus professor of Philosophy) and his wife, Saundra. Dr. Pam Sailors, who is currently serving as Head of both the Philosophy and Economics Departments, helped to introduce donors and the recipients in both departments at the banquet.

Dr. Bill Brown with Eryn Cantrell
(William R. Brown Scholarship)


 Dr. Pam Sailors with Nathan Dunn
 (Philosophy Faculy Fund Scholarship)

The donors present, who had endowed scholars in Religious Studies and in the Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Criminology, were Mrs Kay Smith-Horn and Dr. and Mrs. Lloyd Young, respectively. They were pleased to share the evening with their scholarship winners Melissa Hurd (William R. Smith Memorial Baptist Student Union Scholarship) and Jessica F. Gray (Dr. Lloyd R. Young Scholarship). Dr. Karl Kunkel (SOC/ANT/CRM) and Dr. James Moyer (REL) introduced donors and recipients for their departments and were particularly pleased to point out that these students were not only excelling academically, but were also heavily involved in student organizations on campus and as volunteers in the community.


Melissa Hurd with Mrs. Kay Smith-Horn
 Dr. Lloyd Young with Jessica R. Gray