December 14, 2017

DECEMBER 14, 2017 9:53 A.M.

Present-Mr. Gregory Spears, Committee Chair
        Ms. Virginia Fry, Committee Member    
        Mr. Kendall Seal, Committee Member  
Also Present-    Mr. Clifton Smart III, President
Dr. Jim Baker, Vice President for Economic Research and Development & International Programs
Dr. Drew Bennett, Chancellor  
Ms. Donna Christian, Director of Internal Audit and Compliance
Ms. Amelia Counts, Governor
Mr. Tyree Davis, IV, Governor
Ms. Rachael Dockery, General Counsel
Ms. Nicki Donnelson, Assistant Director, University Communications
Mr. Brent Dunn, Vice President for University Advancement
Dr. Frank Einhellig, Provost
Mr. Steve Foucart, Chief Financial Officer
Mr. Craig Frazier, Governor  
Mr. Gabriel Gore, Governor
Ms. Kim Hamm, BKD Partner
Dr. David Hough, Dean, College of Education
Dr. Tammy Jahnke, Dean, College of Natural and Applied Sciences        
Mr. Tom Johnson, Director of Safety and Transportation
Ms. Karolyn Kime, Financial Services
Dr. Julie Masterson, Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate College
Dr. Victor Matthews, Dean, College of Humanities and Public Affairs
Ms. Beverly Miller, Governor
Mr. Kyle Miller, BKD Senior Associate
Mr. Jeff Mitchell, Assistant General Counsel
Ms. Shirley Mitchell, Senior Accountant-Analyst, Provost Office
Mr. Matt Morris, Vice President for Administrative Services
Mr. Jeff Morrissey, Chief Information Officer
Mr. Tom Peters, Dean, Library
Mr. Wes Pratt, Chief Diversity Officer and Assistant to the President
Dr. Helen Reid, Dean, College of Health and Human Services
Mr. Scott Schneider, Director, Business and Support Services, West Plains
Ms. Suzanne Shaw, Vice President for Marketing and Communications
Ms. Carol Silvey, Governor
Dr. Dee Siscoe, Vice President for Student Affairs
Mr. Gary Stewart, Director, Residence Life, Housing and Dining Services
Ms. Carrie Tergin, Governor  
Ms. Kristan Gochenauer, Secretary to the Board         
1.    Roll Call – Mr. Gregory Spears, Committee Chair, called the Risk Management and Audit Committee meeting to order at 9:53 a.m. on Thursday, December 14, 2017, on the Missouri State University campus.

2.    Approval of Minutes – Mr. Spears mentioned that the first item of business was the approval of minutes from the November 29, 2017 meeting.  Ms. Virginia Fry made a motion, seconded by Mr. Kendall Seal.

Motion passed unanimously. 

3.    Independent Audit Fiscal Year 217 and Management Letter Review – Ms. Kim Hamm, BKD Partner, and Mr. Kyle Miller, BKD Senior Associate, gave an overview of the approach taken to perform the University’s independent audit for the year ended June 30, 2017. BKD issued an unqualified (clean) opinion on the University’s financial statements with no reportable findings.  In addition, a review of the management letter demonstrates no reportable matters as well as no journal entries requested or adjustments recommended. BKD also issued an unqualified (clean) opinion on the University’s major federal programs with no reportable findings or questioned costs. 
4.        Adjournment – Mr. Spears adjourned the meeting at 10:21 a.m., on the motion of Ms. Fry, the second of Mr. Seal, and the unanimous approval of the committee.                        

Kristan Gochenauer
Secretary to the Board