December 14, 2017

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2017, 8:45 A.M.

Present-Mr. Kendall Seal, Committee Chair
Ms. Amelia Counts, Committee Member
Mr. Tyree Davis IV, Committee Member
Mr. Craig Frazier, Committee Member
Ms. Virginia Fry, Committee Member
Mr. Gabriel Gore, Committee Member
Ms. Beverly Miller, Committee Member
Ms. Carol Silvey, Committee Member
Mr. Gregory Spears, Committee Member
Ms. Carrie Tergin, Committee Member

Also Present-Mr. Clifton M. Smart III, President, Missouri State University
Dr. Jim Baker, Vice President for Economic Research and Development & International Programs
Dr. Drew Bennett, Chancellor, Missouri State University, West Plains
Ms. Donna Christian, Director, Internal Audit and Compliance
Dr. Chris Craig, Deputy Provost
Ms. Rachael Dockery, General Counsel
Ms. Nicki Donnelson, Assistant Director, University Communications
Mr. Brent Dunn, Vice President, University Advancement
Dr. Frank Einhellig, Provost
Mr. David Hall, Manager, Emergency Preparedness
Dr. David Hough, Dean, College of Education
Dr. Tammy Jahnke, Dean, College of Natural and Applied Sciences
Mr. Tom Johnson, Director, Safety and Transportation
Dr. Thomas Lane, Associate Vice President for Student Life/Dean of Students
Mr. Rhonda Lesley, Director, Counseling Center
Dr. Julie Masterson, Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate College
Dr. Victor Matthews, Dean, College of Humanities and Public Affairs
Mr. Jeff Mitchell, Assistant General Counsel
Ms. Shirley Mitchell, Senior Accountant-Analyst, Provost Office
Mr. Matt Morris, Vice President for Administrative Services
Dr. Dave Muegge, Director of Health and Wellness Services, Taylor Health Center
Dr. Joye Norris, Associate Provost for Access and Outreach
Mr. Tom Peters, Dean, Library
Mr. Greg Rainwater, Budget and Financial Manager, Provost Office
Dr. Helen Reid, Dean, College of Health and Human Services
Ms. Claudette Riley, News-Leader
Mr. Scott Schneider, Director, Business and Support Services, West Plains
Ms. Suzanne Shaw, Vice President for Marketing and Communication
Dr. Dee Siscoe, Vice President for Student Affairs
Ms. Lynette Walker, Business Office and Financial Coordinator, Taylor Health Center
Ms. Kristan Gochenauer, Secretary to the Board of Governors

1.    Roll Call – Mr. Kendall Seal, Committee Chair, called the Programs and Planning Committee meeting to order at 8:45 a.m. on Thursday, December 14, 2017, on the Missouri State University campus.  

2.    Approval of Minutes – Mr. Seal mentioned that the first item of business was the approval of the minutes from the October 27, 2017, meeting.  Ms. Beverly Miller so moved, receiving a second from Ms. Virginia Fry.  

Motion passed unanimously.
3.    Health Resources for Students – Dr. Dee Siscoe, Vice President for Student Affairs, introduced Dr. Dave Muegge, Director of Health and Wellness Services; Ms. Rhonda Lesley, Director of   Counseling Services and Dr. Thomas Lane, Associate Vice President for Student Life/Dean of Students.  Dr. Muegge gave a presentation on the overall physical health and wellness of University employees sharing data to include health center scope, student wellness and the low cost of services and insurance for Missouri State students and employees.  Ms. Lesley then discussed the University counseling center including ideals, goals and core values.  As part of her presentation, she showed national usage data versus Missouri State University data and noted outreach programs that the center offers.  Dr. Lane then gave an overview of the Behavioral Intervention Team (BIT) to include its history, who is served through the program and how it works.        

4.    Adjournment – Mr. Seal adjourned the Programs and Planning Committee meeting at 9:45 a.m. on the motion of Mr. Gabriel Gore, the second of Mr. Craig Frazier, and the unanimous approval of the committee.    
Kristan Gochenauer
Secretary to the Board