December 11, 2009



DECEMBER 11, 2009

1. Roll Call

Present- Ms. Elizabeth Bradbury, Governor (by conference call)

Mr. Michael Duggan, Governor (by conference call)

Mr. Gordon Elliott, Governor (by conference call)

Mr. Brian Hammons, Chair of the Board (by conference call)

Ms. Ashley Hoyer, Student Governor (by conference call)

Mr. Orvin Kimbrough, Governor (by conference call)

Ms. Mary Sheid, Governor (by conference call)

Ms. Cathy Smith, Governor (by conference call)

Ms. Phyllis Washington, Vice-Chair of the Board (by conference call)

Mr. John Winston, Governor (by conference call)


Present- Michael Nietzel, President

Earle Doman, Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Ken McClure, Vice President for Administrative and Information Services

Paul Kincaid, Chief of Staff

Clifton Smart, General Counsel

John McAlear, Secretary of the Board

2. Presiding --- The presiding officer for the meeting was Mr. Brian Hammons, Chair of the Board of Governors. He called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. in Carrington Hall Room 203 on the campus of Missouri State University in Springfield, Missouri.

3. Presidential Search --- Mr. Hammons first commented that he would like to recommend that Michael Duggan be the Chair of the Presidential Search Committee that will be appointed at their December 18, 2009, board meeting. So moved by Mr. Winston, receiving the second of Mr. Kimbrough.

Motion passed 9-0.

Mr. Hammons next reminded the board that there is a work session planned for 6:00 p.m. on December 17, 2009, regarding the upcoming search to replace Dr. Nietzel. The five discussion topics for that meeting are: 1) the use of a presidential search firm; 2) the search time line; 3) the composition of the search committee; 4) the criteria for our next President; and 5) the search budget.

4. Date of Next Meeting --- The date of the next meeting was set for Thursday, December 17, 2009, at 6:00 p.m. in Room 315 in the Plaster Student Union on the campus of Missouri State University in Springfield, Missouri.

5. Adjournment--- Mr. Hammons adjourned the meeting at 4:20 p.m. on the motion of Ms. Washington, the second of Mr. Kimbrough, and the unanimous vote of the Board.

John W. McAlear