April 21, 2011




April 21, 2011

1. Roll Call:

Present - Ms. Elizabeth Bradbury, Chair of the Board (by conference call)

Mr. Gordon Elliott, Vice-Chair of the Board (by conference call)

Mr. Brian Hammons, Governor (by conference call)

Ms. Cathy Smith, Governor (by conference call)


Present - James E. Cofer, Sr., President

Doug Sampson, University Architect and Director of Campus Planning

Don Hendricks, Director of University Communications

Allen Kunkel, Associate Vice President of Economic Development

John McAlear, Secretary of the Board

2. Presiding — Ms. Elizabeth Bradbury, Chair of the Board of Governors, called the Executive Committee conference-call meeting to order at 4:30 p.m. in Room 203 of Carrington Hall on the campus of Missouri State University in Springfield, Missouri.

3. Facilities & Equipment --- Mr. Doug Sampson, University Architect and Director of Campus Planning, presented the following resolution for the Executive Committee to consider:

Professional services in conjunction with the repairs to the exterior of the Jordan Valley Innovation Center (JVIC) (Agenda Item No. II.A.); Structural Engineering Associates, for a fixed fee of $66,700 plus reimbursable expenses. Additional services of up to $10,000 as described in this agreement may be authorized and approved as necessary.

He explained that JVIC is experiencing water infiltration through the existing masonry walls and around the deteriorated structural concrete frame that is exposed on this building. Work will mainly be concentrated on the south side of the building with work being done on the east face of the tower as the budget may allow. With approval, work will begin immediately on the design and preparation of the bid documents with the actual corrective action taking place later this summer. He added that this Kansas City firm has sophisticated software that will help with the design of the corrective measures to stop the infiltration. Moved by Mr. Hammons, receiving the second of Mr. Elliott.

Ms. Bradbury then asked for a roll call vote on the motion.

Motion passed 3-0 (Governors Elliott, Hammons, and Smith).

4. Adjournment — Ms. Bradbury adjourned the conference-call meeting at 4:45 p.m. on the motion of Mr. Hammons, the second of Ms. Smith, and the unanimous vote of the committee.

John W. McAlear
Secretary of the Board