April 10, 2008

April 10, 2008

1. Roll Call
Present — Mr. Michael Duggan, Vice-Chair of the Board (by conference call)
Ms. Mary Sheid, Chair of the Board (by conference call)
Ms. Phyllis Washington, Governor (by conference)

Absent - Mr. Gordon Elliott, Governor

Present — Greg Burris, Vice President for Administrative and Information Services
Kent Kay, Chief Financial Officer
Clif Smart, General Counsel
Doug Sampson, University Architect
Bill Rowe, Director of Athletics
John McAlear, Secretary of the Board

2. Presiding — Ms. Mary Sheid, Chair of the Board of Governors, called the Executive Committee meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. in Room 203 of Carrington Hall on the campus of Missouri State University in Springfield, Missouri.

3. Facilities & Equipment — Mr. Greg Burris, Vice President for Administrative and Information Services, presented the following resolutions for the Board’s consideration:

Approval to increase the project budget for the integrated scoring and video display systems for the JQH Arena and Plaster Sports Complex (Item II.A.). This $282,400 additional amount awarded to Daktronics, Inc., will be added to the construction costs line to provide funds needed to cover the addition of two 28’ scorer’s tables. This amount was quoted as an alternate in the original bid from Daktronics, Inc., but was not approved at the March 14, 2008 Board meeting. The new project budget is now $2,167,000.

The interior and exterior signage for the JQH Arena (Item II.B.); low bid of Star Signs, LLC; $248,944 for the base bid plus alternates 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, and 10.

A short discussion was held regarding how the two scorer’s tables would pay for themselves fairly quickly from advertising dollars received. Approval of the above resolutions was moved by Ms. Washington and seconded by Mr. Duggan; a roll call vote was taken, those in favor - Governors Duggan, Sheid, and Washington; those opposed – none; those absent – Governor Elliott.

Motion passed 3-0.

4. Adjournment — Ms. Sheid adjourned the conference call meeting at approximately 11:05 a.m.

John W. McAlear
Secretary of the Board