Department of Military Science

General information

Since 1952 the Military Science program (Army ROTC) has prepared college men and women for commissions as Second Lieutenants in the United States Army, the Army National Guard, and the Army Reserves. The ROTC program is divided into two elective courses; the Basic Course and the Advanced Course. Basic Course classes are open to all students. They each provide academic credit hours and may fulfill elective credit in any program. Students who enroll in Basic Course classes receive leadership, management, and confidence-building instruction which will be of great value in any career field they enter. Enrollment in the Advanced Course classes is restricted to students who meet departmental criteria and who willingly accept a commission as an Army officer with a military service obligation. Learn more: Department of Military Science