First-Year Programs Advisory Council


To advise the Director of First-Year Programs and the Associate Provost for Student Development and Public Affairs on initiatives involving the first-year experience (FYE) at Missouri State University. This includes, but is not limited to: 1) developing a first-year philosophy statement and over-arching goals for the program; 2) evaluating the effectiveness of GEP 101, and making recommendations to the Director concerning changes to the course designed to increase academic excellence, enhance student success, and integrate the public affairs mission; 3) providing assistance with the learning communities and common reader programs; and 4) serving as a liaison with other departments/colleges/student affairs as part of a larger effort to inform and address issues involving first-year students. (Members serve three-year terms. Student members will be appointed as needed to accommodate graduations.)

Spring 2016 MInutes

Spring 2014 Minutes

Fall 2013 Minutes: September 6, 2013

Fall 2013 Minutes: October 18, 2013

Current Advisory Council

Rotating Members

Mr. Mark Biggs, Professor, COAL (member through 2017)

Dr. Jeffrey Cornelius-White, COE (member through 2017)

Dr. Clay Franklin, Associate Professor, CHHS (member through 2016)

TBA, COB (member through 2018)

Crystal Gale, Associate Professor, LIBR (chair through 2016)

Scott Handley, Assistant Director, Honors College (member through 2017)

Dr. Stephanie Hein CNAS (member through 2017)

Dr. Thomas Lane, Assistant Vice President Student Life (member through 2016)

TBA, Student Representative (member through 2016)

Dr. Tom Dicke, Professor, CHPA (member through 2018) 

Ex-Officio Members

Dr. Rachelle Darabi, Associate Provost, Student Development and Public Affairs (standing member)

Dr. Tracey Glaessgen, Assistant Director, First-Year Programs (standing member).

Past Advisory Councils

With the links on your left, you will find the past Advisory Coucil lists for 2011-2012, 2010-2011, 2009-2010, 2008-2009, and 2007-2008. There are also Student Success Committes for 2006-2007 and 2005-2006.