First-Year Council Minutes Tuesday, Dec. 8, 2020 from 11:00-noon via Zoom

Membership of First-Year Council for 2020-2021 (listed alphabetically)

Rotating Members

Dr. Denise Baumann, Student Affairs (member through 2020—rotating off) Rob Moore rotating on for 2021-2024

Dr. Stephen Berkwitz, CHPA (member through 2024)

Ms. Alexis Butler, Student Representative, Hospitality Leadership major

Ms. Sierra Chitwood, Student Representative, SAHE masters program

Dr. Jeffrey Cornelius-White, COE (member through 2020—rotating off) Minor Baker rotating on for 2021-2024

Ms. Crystal Dicke, LIBR (member through 2022)

Mr. Scott Handley, Honors College (member through 2024)

Dr. Stephanie Hein, CNAS (member through 2020—rotating off) Toby Dogwiler rotating on for 2021-2024

Dr. Linda Moser, COAL (member through 2022)

Ms. Sarah Murray, CHHS (member through 2022)

Ms. Carly Pierson, COB (member through 2022)

Dr. Christi Sudbrock, COA (member through 2022)

Ex-Officio Members

Dr. Kelly Wood, Associate Provost, Student Success (standing member)

Dr. Tracey Glaessgen, Associate Director, Center for Academic Success and Transition (standing member)

<u>Council Charge:</u> To advise the Executive Director and Associate Director, Center for Academic Success and Transition on initiatives involving the first-year experience (FYE) at Missouri State University. These initiatives include, but are not limited to: 1) developing overarching goals for the first-year seminar course, 2) ensuring the course is designed to increase academic skill building, public affairs awareness, and campus connections, 3) evaluating the effectiveness of the first-year seminar course and recommending changes based upon assessment data, and 4) serving as a liaison with other departments/colleges/student affairs as part of a larger effort to inform and address issues involving first-year students.

<u>Agenda</u>

Convene meeting—

Members in Attendance: Denise Baumann, Minor Baker, Sierra Chitwood, Crystal Dicke, Toby Dogwiler, Scott Handley, Stephanie Hein, Sarah Murray, Christi Sudbrock, Carly Pierson, Kelly Wood, Tracey Glaessgen

- II. Updates/Discussion:
 - GEP 101 Updates
 - Textbook selection update—5-person committee, comprised of 2 faculty, 2 staff, and 1 graduate teaching assistant, review potential GEP 101 textbooks. After creating a rubric and reviewing textbooks, the committee selected FlatWorld Student Success due to its digital access, affordability, and customization features.
 - Customization instructor/project—The selection committee members have offered to move forward with customization assistance and will work with Tracey/Kelly on this project for spring 2021 with an anticipated completion in time for summer 2021.

- Assessment with CGEIP—biennial review for GEP 101. Received an Assessment Grant to offer a small stipend for curricular review focused upon 2 general education goals, Collaboration and Community Engagement. Committee reviewed student work individually using a rubric as a guide, reviewed end-ofsemester instructor survey, and then met as a group to discuss student learning. CGEIP Review was submitted for 2021.
- Assignment review—First-Year Programs requested feedback on the public affairs assignment integration from GEP 101 fall 2020 instructors. Feedback still needs to be reviewed.
- Common Reader selection—new Common Reader for summer 2021/fall 2021
 Celeste Headlee, We Need to Talk: How to Have Conversations that Matter.

0

- Center for Academic Success and Transition
 - Title III—Missouri State has received a Title III grant, which allow for additional support for first-generation students. This grant is for five years in cooperation with West Plains. We will expand our Student Success Coaches, specialized training and professional development for select GEP 101 instructors teaching the first-generation sections, expand our texting support, and offer peer mentors.
 - FG Student Success Advisory Council—The mission of the First-Generation Student Success Advisory Council is to support first-generation students at Missouri State University from recruitment to graduation through partnerships, resources, campus-wide advocacy, best practices, and evidencebased programs. Co-chairs: Tracey Glaessgen and Priscilla Childress.
- III. Other discussion items?
 - Members rotating off—many thanks for your service!
 (Dr. Denise Baumann, Dr. Jef Cornelius-White, Dr. Stephanie Hein)
- IV. Next meeting—spring 2021