Charge to ad hoc Committee on Policy Review

Charge Given by: Cindy MacGregor, 2017-18 Chair of Faculty Senate

Rationale and Background

During the 2016-2017 academic year, an ad hoc Committee on the Policy Library recommended the formation of a standing committee of Faculty Senate. During the 2017-2018 academic year the Rules committee will be reviewing this committee for inclusion in the Faculty Bylaws. In the interim, this committee will be formed as ad hoc.

Purpose of Committee on Policy Review

As per the resolution from last year's ad hoc Committee on the Policy Library, the Committee on Policy Review:

- Shall meet up to twice monthly to discuss pending policies under consideration by university leadership and to review current content in the university Policy Library.
- Shall identify current and emerging content in the university Policy Library (excluding the *Faculty Handbook*) that should be reviewed by the Faculty Handbook Revision Committee or warrants further review by the faculty.
- Shall prepare and present periodic reports with recommendations to the Faculty Senate regarding policies being referred to the Faculty Handbook Revision Committee, pending operating policies (OP) under consideration by university leadership, and other Policy Library content that should be further reviewed by the faculty.

Membership of the ad hoc Committee on Policy Review

As per the resolution from last year's ad hoc Committee on the Policy Library, the membership for the ad hoc Committee on Policy Review will consist of:

The Chair of the Faculty, the Chair-Elect of the Faculty, and the Chair of the Faculty Handbook Revision Committee shall be members of the Policy Review Committee. A minimum of three additional faculty members will be appointed by the Chair of the Faculty Senate, so as to provide representation from various academic colleges; these additional faculty members will serve a two year term and may be reappointed for up to two consecutive terms; and one of the these faculty members will serve as the chair. In addition, the Director of Human Resources, the Provost, a representative from the Registrar's office, and Chief General Counsel will be *ex officio* members without vote. [Text stricken because terms will be part of the standing committee, not the ad hoc version]

Time-Line for Committee

The ad hoc version of this committee will terminate at the May 2018 session of Faculty Senate.

Members:

Chair: Mike Foster, Past Chair of Faculty Senate, COAL Cindy MacGregor, Chair of Faculty Senate, COE Tom Dicke, Chair-Elect of Faculty Senate, CHPA Roberto Canales, former chair of FHRC, CHHS Cameron Wickham, CNAS Josh Lambert, Library Wes Scroggins, COB Christi Sudbrock, CoAg TBD, Chair of Faculty Handbook Revision Committee Chris Craig, Deputy Provost Rachael Dockery, General Counsel Tamaria Few, Director of Human Resources Shannon Holt, Associate Registrar