# Missouri State.

#### Minutes of the September Session of the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate held the September session on Thursday, September 9, 2021, via Zoom online. Chair Chris Herr called the session to order at 3:30 p.m. Cynthia MacGregor served as parliamentarian.

Substitutes: None

Absences: Paria Akbar Akhgari (PH), Jerri Lynn Kyle (Instructor Rank rep), Kyle Thomas (TD), and Andrie Shoumikhin (DS).

Guests: Natalie Allen (BMS), Jaime Gnau (DTN), David Hall (Univ Safety), Sara Henary (CGEIP), Judith Martin (MCL), Sarah Murray (DTN), Melinda Novik (SM), Daniela Novotny (DTN), Missy Penkalski (Grad Council), Deborah Piland (BMS), Tracy Stout (CGEIP), Jospeh Williams (BMS), and Kelly Wood (Provost's Office).

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

The May minutes were approved as posted.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS

1. If necessary, a carry-over meeting will be held on Tuesday, September 14 at 3:30 via Zoom.

2. To reiterate one note included in the special rules of order sent out with the agenda: except for those votes where there is no obvious difference in opinions for the motion on the floor, voting will be conducted by Zoom, using the "raise hand" function. To raise your hand in Zoom's desktop app, click the "Raise Hand" button in the "Reactions" tab. In the mobile app, tap the "Raise Hand" option in the "More" tab. Once you have been recognized or the Chair indicates votes have been tallied, please lower your hand.

3. The Faculty Handbook currently posted online is the draft version. The final revised version will be posted soon

4. The Committee on Honorary Degrees is soliciting nominations for recipients of Honorary Degrees. The guidelines for awarding those degrees is detailed in the Senate Bylaws (Article 1, Section 9), but in short:

"The honorary doctorate degree recognizes the extraordinary achievements of distinguished citizens" ... "The individual honored should have a strong tie to this community, state, or region. Although individuals with nationwide and worldwide recognition should not be excluded, preference should be given to distinguished candidates who have not been widely recognized and honored." Questions and nominations can be directed to Dr. Tom Tomasi, the chair of the committee.

5. President Smart and Provost Einhellig are hosting a faculty coffee at the Welcome Center on Monday, September 20 from 4:00-5:30. This was organized in response to faculty requests for more opportunities to speak directly to the administration about issues of faculty concern, and all faculty are invited.

#### PRESENTATION FROM THE SENATE PARLIAMENTARIAN

Cindy MacGregor, parliamentarian, presented the report.

#### **REPORT ON COVID-19 POLICIES**

David Hall, Director of University Safety, presented the report.

Covid cases and positivity rates are down compared to the first weeks of Fall 2020 and Spring 2021. Expect updates on the masking policy at the October Town Hall meeting.

## **REPORT FROM THE ACADEMIC PERSONNEL REVIEW COMMISSION**

Chair Herr reported there were no grievances filed in the last year.

## **REPORT ON 2021 PUBLIC AFFAIRS CONFERENCE**

Elizabeth Walker, Fellow for Public Affairs, presented the report. The "Bridging the Divide" Public Affairs conference will take place Sept. 27-30. Visit the <u>Public Affairs</u> <u>Bridging the Divide</u> web page for more information.

## **ACTION ON CURRICULAR PROPOSALS**

CGEIP Course Change: DTN 130 Essentials of Nutrition Moved by Senator Josh Smith, BMS Discussion. APPROVED SA 11-21/22

**UNFINISHED BUSINESS** None.

NEW BUSINESS None.

**ADJOURNMENT** Chair Herr adjourned the meeting at 4:54 p.m.

Lanya Lamouria Secretary of the Faculty

#### Senate Action 11-21/22

Faculty Senate Chair Must Be Notified of Intent to Challenge By: September 17, 2021 Right of Challenge Expires October 2, 2021

## **CGEIP Course Change: DTN 130 Essentials of Nutrition**