Missouri State.

UNIVERSITY

Minutes of the July Special Session of the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate held a Special Session on Tuesday, July 12, 2011, in the PSU Theatre. Chair Terrel Gallaway called the session to order at 3:30 p.m. Edward De Long served as parliamentarian.

Substitutes: Jef Cornelius-White for Paul Ajuwon, CL; Rebecca Woodard for John Downing, HR; Michael Craig for Richard Garrad, BS; Sue George for Sarah Nixon, Assoc Prof Rep; Beth Hurst for Eric Sheffield, RF; Ron Clark for Christina Simmers, MK; Richard Bruce for Kerry Slattery, IM; and Wenping Qiu for Beth Walker, AG.

Absences: Tracy Cleveland, PN; Vicki, GL; Keith Ernce, FCC Chair; and Eric Nelson, Grad Council Chair.

Guests: Patti Ross Salinas, CCJ; Marilyn McCrosky, LIS; Mary Ann Jennings, SW; Dana Frederick, MGT; K. Stephen Haggard, FGB; Dan Crafts, HRA; Marcia Ratcliff, CSD; Earl Holmer, ENG; Drew Beisswenger, LI; Kelly Barnts, MSS; Ann Fuhrman, LIB; Victor Matthews, CHPA; Tracy Dalton, ENG; Scott Fiedler, COE; Beth Bruner, PDC; Neosha Mackey, LIB; Helen Reid, CHHS; David Hough, COE; John Catau, Provost; Joyce Norris, Provost; Leslie Anderson, CLSE; Wes Pratt, IEC; Kelly Cara, FCTL; Kent Ragan, FGB; Art Spisak, HC; Cindy MacGregor, CLSE; Tona Hetzler, SMAT; Justin Lue, KSMU; Stephanie Hein, HRA; Steve Turner, RES/FC; Wayne Mitchell, PSY; Erin Buchanan, PSY; Mary Ann Wood, PAS; Elizabeth Strong, Study Away; Alisa Trotter, Bus Adv; Craig Hemmens, CRM; Gloria Galanes, COM; Rob Hornberger, Registrar; Vickie Sanchez, Public Health; Patrick Swett, PLS; Xingping Sun, MA; Kanghui Guo, MA; Corinne Shirley, MCL; Shannon McKowsky, CIS; Richard Belshoff, MA; Tom Plymate, GGP; Jill Black, GGP; Anson Elliott, AG; Paula Wilhelm, HR; Mike Junger, DDS; MJ Pardue, MJF; Kevin Evans, GGP; Mike Boyle, PHI; Zach Dorhan, SGA; Jackson Brown, LIB; Emmett Redd, PAMS; Leslie Baynes, REC; Matthew Stubblefield, CSU; Catherine Beck, Bear Claw; Randy Dillon, COM; Carey Adams, COAL; Elizabeth Rozell, COBA; Telory Davies, COAL; M. Hulett, COBA; T. Arthaud, CLSE/COE; L. Barnhart, MSU/BIO; Tom Tomasi, Grad College; Dough Gouzie, GGP; Kim Sutliff, COAL; Kelly Wood, COM; Neil DiSarno, CSD; Erin M. Sullivan, SGA; Michael Hudson, SMAT; Matthew Pierson, EGR; Dixie Williams, Staff Senate; Brian Edmond, MIS; Darryl Clark, TD; Mark Paxton, MJF; and Theresa McCoy, CSV.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The May 2011 minutes were approved as distributed.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Chair Gallaway welcomed all the Senators and visitors to the special summer meeting and thanked them for attending.

The Faculty Senate Executive Committee has met extensively with the new interim Provost and President and Chair Gallaway welcomed both for today's special session.

Provost Einhellig deferred to President Smart to lead off with comments.

COMMENTS FROM MR. CLIF SMART, INTERIM PRESIDENT

Mr. Smart addressed the Senate, and discussed his new role, goals, vision and mission for the University.

COMMENTS FROM DR. FRANK EINHELLIG, INTERIM PROVOST

Dr. Einhellig stated his reasons for taking this position and his leadership direction.

QUESTION AND ANSWER DISCUSSION WITH DR. FRANK EINHELLIG AND MR. CLIF SMART

Mr. Smart and Dr. Einhellig answered questions from the Senate and guests.

RESOLUTION FOR FISCAL RESPONSIBILITY

Senator Kane withdrew the resolution at this time.

RESOLUTION ON DEPARTMENT CHAIR MODEL OF ADMINISTRATION

Senator Kaufman moved the resolution to the floor. Dr. Reed Olsen discussed the resolution and offered a rationale.

Senator Weaver moved to divide the question. At the request of the chair, and with no opposition from the Senate, the motion to divide the question passed by unanimous consent.

1. Be it resolved, that the Faculty Senate recommends the following action:

Immediately move from the current Head/Director model of department/school administration to the Chair model. Chairs of Departments/Schools will be chosen by the ranked faculty of the unit to represent the faculty for a term of 3 years, renewable one time by a majority vote of the ranked faculty in Department/School.

Senator Zhang moved to table the resolution and investigate. It was clarified that it should be a motion to table. **Motion to table the first resolution passed.**

2. Be it resolved, that the Faculty Senate recommends the following action:

Department/School Chairs will be members of the ranked faculty with all privileges of ranked faculty while serving as Department/School Chairs.

Senator Kane moved to table the second item in the original resolution. Motion to table passed.

3. Be it resolved, that the Faculty Senate recommends the following action:

No academic administrator at MSU is to be paid at a CUPA ratio higher than the average CUPA ratio of the faculty under their administration. Note: CUPA ratios equal the ratio of the faculty/administrators' MSU salary to the CUPA mean for faculty/administrators at in a similar rank/position in a given discipline/academic unit.

Senator Lampe moved to amend the third resolution by deleting all of the text in it. Senator Cornelius-White (substitute for Senator Ajuwon) moved to call the question. **Motion to amend failed.**

Senator Satzinger moved to table the third resolution. Motion to table passed.

Senator Kaufman moved that the Faculty Senate Executive Committee create an ad hoc committee to consider all three tabled resolutions. **Motion passed.**

UNFINISHED BUSINESS None.

Faculty Senate Minutes

NEW BUSINESS

As a point of information, Senator Cornelius White told the Senate he was not bringing a resolution to the floor that had been distributed prior to the meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 5:25 p.m. The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Faculty Senate will be on Thursday, September 8, at 3:30 p.m. in PSU 313.

Cindy Hail Secretary of the Faculty