

Minutes of the February Session of the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate held the February session on Thursday, February 10, 2022, via Zoom online. Chair Chris Herr called the session to order at 3:30 p.m. Cynthia MacGregor served as parliamentarian.

Substitutes: Telory Arendell for Kyle Thomas (Theatre & Dance).

Absences: Albert Barreda (Hospitality Leadership), Scott Cameron (Music), Mike Hudson (Chair Elect), Steve McIntyre (History), Nathan Miracle (Physician Assist Studies), Melissa Schoeben (Bio), Josh Smith (Biomedical Sci), and Cathy Starr (Merch & Fashion Design).

Guests: Katrina Chavez (Registrar's Office), Brett Garland (Crim), Seth Hoelscher (Rules Comm), Judith Martinez (Provost Diversity Council), Melissa Penkalski (Grad Council), Avery Russell (Provost Diversity Council), Caryn Saxon (Crim), Tracy Stout (CGEIP), Tara Stulce (Public Health & Sports Med), Fei Wang (Chem & Biochem), Kelly Wood (Provost's Office), and Angela Young (Registrar).

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The January minutes were approved as posted.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- 1. If necessary, a carry-over meeting will be held on Tuesday, February 15 at 3:30 via Zoom.
- 2. To reiterate one note included in the special rules of order sent out with the agenda: except for those votes where there is no obvious difference in opinion for the motion on the floor, voting will be conducted by Zoom, using the "raise hand" function. To raise your hand in Zoom's desktop app, click the "Raise Hand" button in the "Reactions" tab. In the mobile app, tap the "Raise Hand" option in the "More" tab. Once you have been recognized or the Chair indicates votes have been tallied, please lower your hand.
- 3. Nominations for the Eric Shade Award are still open now; they will remain open until February 15. The award was initiated to recognize those who "demonstrate significant commitment to the principles of faculty governance within the university." If you are interested in nominating someone, please email the name of the nominee to me by next Tuesday. More detailed information about the award and the application process was included in the announcements for the December and January sessions.
- 4. If you will remember, First Year Programs spoke at the January session about needing faculty to teach GEP 101. The application process is open, with a first date of consideration of March 9. I will include the link to the application in these announcements so that you can distribute it to your constituents as needed: https://www.missouristate.edu/FirstYearPrograms/instructor-recruitment.htm.
- 5. Due to changes in MOSERS guidelines that follow IRS mandates, as of January 1, a person must be retired for 30 days before being allowed to be re-employed at MSU in any capacity. This is the new standard for what is referred to as "bona fide" termination or separation of employment as defined in the Faculty Handbook and elsewhere.

ELECTION ON UNIVERSITY HEARING COMMITTEE

Secretary Lamouria conducted parts 1 and 2 of this election.

The following faculty were elected to the UHC with a term beginning in fall 2022 and ending shown:

LeAnn Brazeal (Comm) – 2025

Matthew Calihman (Eng) – 2024

Sabrina Brinson (Childhood Ed & Family Studies) – 2025

Linda Garrison-Kane (Counseling Leadership & Spec Ed) - 2025

Timothy Daugherty (Psych) – 2025

Bogdan Kostic (Psych) - 2025

Michael Suttmoeller (Crim) – 2025

Scott Worman (Soc & Anthro) – 2025

Georgiana Saunders (Bio) – 2025

Michael Burton (Environ Plant Sci & Natural Resources) – 2025

Elizabeth Walker (Animal Sci) – 2025

REPORT FROM COMMITTEE ON RULES

Seth Hoelscher, committee chair, presented the report on Charges 4,6 and 7.

ACTION ON CURRICULAR PROPOSALS

New Program: Victim Advocacy Undergraduate Certificate Moved by Senator Bill Sandel, Criminology & Criminal Justice SA 31-21/22

New Program: Argumentation & Public Policy Undergraduate Certificate

Moved by Senator Charlene Berquist, Communication

SA 32-21/22

New Program: Social Justice & Activism Undergraduate Certificate

Moved by Senator Charlene Berquist, Communication

SA 33-21/22

New Program: Foundations of Interprofessional Education in Health Care Undergraduate Certificate Moved by Senator David Claborn, Public Health & Sports Medicine SA 34-21/22

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Report from the Faculty Handbook Revision Committee (from January 2022)—Christina Simmers, Chair Senate went into quasi committee of the whole to continue discussion of the proposed revisions to the Faculty Handbook. The Senate discussed the revisions at length.

Senator Thomas Tate made a motion to refer the Faculty Handbook revisions back to the FHRC with consideration of the proposed edits from the Senate. An edited version will be brought to the Committee on Policy Review before being brought back to the Faculty Senate.

The motion passed.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Herr adjourned the meeting at 4:45 p.m.

Lanya Lamouria Secretary of the Faculty

Senate Action 31-21/22

Adopted by Senate on February 10, 2022

Faculty Senate Chair Must Be Notified of Intent to Challenge By: February 18, 2022 Right of Challenge Expires March 6, 2022

New Program: Victim Advocacy Undergraduate Certificate

Senate Action 32-21/22

Adopted by Senate on February 10, 2022

Faculty Senate Chair Must Be Notified of Intent to Challenge By: February 18, 2022 Right of Challenge Expires March 6, 2022

New Program: Argumentation & Public Policy Undergraduate Certificate

Senate Action 33-21/22

Adopted by Senate on February 10, 2022

Faculty Senate Chair Must Be Notified of Intent to Challenge By: February 18, 2022 Right of Challenge Expires March 6, 2022

New Program: Social Justice & Activism Undergraduate Certificate

Senate Action 34-21/22

Adopted by Senate on February 10, 2022

Faculty Senate Chair Must Be Notified of Intent to Challenge By: February 18, 2022 Right of Challenge Expires March 6, 2022

New Program: Foundations of Interprofessional Education in Health Care Undergraduate Certificate