

Minutes of the February Session of the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate held the February session on Thursday, February 8, 2024, in PSU 313. Chair Beth Walker called the session to order at 3:30 p.m. Mike Hudson served as parliamentarian.

Substitutes: Jamie Atkinson for Ximena Uribe-Zarain, CLSE; Paula Patterson for Jason Hausback, MUS; and Leonard Horton for Holly Holladay, MJF.

Absences: M. Hassan Raza, CEFS; Melinda Hammerschmidt, GLS; Mike Foster, Prof Rep; Judith Martinez, Asst Prof Rep; Shurita Thomas-Tate, Assoc Prof Rep; Christopher Collins COM; Bonnie Slavych, CSD; Yuhua Qiao, PS; and Fei Wang, CH.

Guests: Katrina Chavez, Registrar; Angela Young, Registrar; and Becca Euglow, Registrar.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The January minutes were approved as posted.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- 1. If necessary, a carry-over meeting will be held on Tuesday, February 13, at 3:30 p.m. (location TBD).
- 2. Chair-Elect Zimmerman talked to the Senate about the upcoming election for Chair-Elect and Secretary of the Faculty for 2024-2025.
- 3. Chair Walker attended the University Space Allocation meeting and shared some of the discussion on needing large classrooms and renovations in Cheek Hall.
- 4. The CUPA information has been submitted.
- 5. Policy Review is looking at the university closure policy.
- 6. Disruption policy will be a future discussion.
- 7. Chair Walker asked the Senate to bring her any concerns about the presentation regarding university safety from the January Senate session.
- 8. BIT team: Chair Walker shared her desire to put together a team to analyze all aspects of campus safety.
- 9. The Past Chairs committee has been assessed with making a recommendation on the presidential candidates.

ELECTION OF THE UNIVERSITY HEARING COMMITTEE

Secretary Novik conducted the annual UHC election.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

UHC Election Outcome:

DCOA

Clydette Alsup, School of Agriculture Science & Conservation Maciej Pszczolkowski, School of Agriculture Science & Conservation

MCHHS

Junyoung Kim, Kinesiology Elizabeth Williamson, Physical Therapy Ashlea Cardin, Occupational Therapy

COB

Aaron Sauer, Technology & Constructional Management Conrad Naegle, School of Accountancy Rajeev Kaula, ITC

RCASH

Samantha Tjaden, Criminology

CNAS

Gary Michelfelder, The School of Earth, Environment & Sustainability

COE

Janelle Flanders, Greenwood Laboratory School

NEW BUSINESS

- Discussion on international travel grant Senator Backes addressed the loss of grants for international travel.
- Discussion on Bear Power—Senator Horton considering core classes for a certificate program.
- Chair Walker opened the floor for discussion on the presidential candidates.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Walker adjourned the meeting at 4:15 p.m.

Melinda Novik Secretary of the Faculty