Minutes of the April Session of the Faculty Senate Missouri State University

The Faculty Senate held its regularly scheduled meeting on Thursday, April 16, 2009, in Plaster Student Union, Theatre. Chair Pauline Nugent called the session to order at 3:30 p.m. Dr. Eric Shade served as parliamentarian.

Substitutes: Keith Emce and J. Hulgus, for Jef Cornelius-White, FCC; Michael Craig for Richard Garrad, BS; and Gary Ward for Michale Hudson, SM

Absences: Magdalena Berry, NTT Instr Rep.; Andrew Cline, MJ; Martha Finch, RE; Ben Goss, MG; Norm Griffith, Staff Delegate; Dennis Hickey, DS; Richard Johnson, CI; Dan Kaufman, PH; Dale Moore, Staff Delegate; Reed Olsen, Acad Rel Chair; Jenifer Roberts, FI; Libby Rozell, Grad Council Chair; Greg Skibinski, SW; Shujun Su, CH; Kenneth Vollmar, CS; and Miles Walz, MS.

Guests: Kathryn Wall, The Standard; Kathy Coy, OIR; Nicki Donnelsen, U. Com.; Ed DeLong, LIS; Karen Horny, LIS; Marilyn McCroskey, LIS; Bill Edgar, LIS; D. Hackeson, CS; Maria Dowdy, CLSE; Rhonda Ridinger, HPER; J. Morrissey, AIS; Hank Rees, CIS; Karl Kunkel, SAC; Nicole Rovig, Registrar; Carey Adams, COAL; Dianne Strickland, MUS; Kelly Wood, COM; Mark Biggs, TD; Casey Comoroski, Staff Senate Chair; Helen Reid, CNAS; Bob Jones, PSY; M. Kernen, MCL; Roger Stoner, COAL; Lynda Johnson, COAL; Art Spisak, MCL/Honors College; and Chris Craig, Office of the Provost.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes were approved as distributed.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- 1. The Senate was reminded that the Public Affairs Conference, "Sustainable Actions for a Sustainable Future" is next week, April 21-24. A full schedule of events is available at publicaffairs.missouristate.edu/conference. Please encourage your students to attend.
- 2. Final ballots for Faculty Senate rank representatives (Non-Tenure Track Instructor, Tenure Track Instructor, and Associate Professor) will be distributed in campus mail tomorrow. Please return your ballots no later than April 24.
- 3. An Ad Hoc Faculty Senate Committee For Online Issues is being formed as per Senate Resolution 9-08/09. Anyone interested in serving on this committee is encouraged to contact the Faculty Senate office. The committee will be comprised of at least four faculty members who are actively involved in on-line instruction or the coordination of on-line programs, a faculty member who can assess and comment on the economic ramifications associated with proposed policy changes, a representative appointed by the Director of Online Education, and any other

representative perceived as relevant by the Senate Executive Committee or Provost Office.

- 4. The University Compensation Committee explored two options for how to handle the carry forward of this year's merit composite score during subsequent reviews when there is a sufficient budget to fund the merit process: 1) take the best year, 2) use an average of years. The committee voted unanimously to give faculty an opportunity to weigh in on these two options. The administraton did not see the first option as viable. As a result, the committee has been asked to consider a method that takes into account performance across years.
- 5. As a point of clarification, the "Best Practices for Compensation" document on the Provost's web site is considered university policy. Any violations of this policy are grounds for appeal. If a violation in policy affects more than one faculty member, there is assurance that the Provost office will aggressively resolve the systemic problem.

CANDIDATE FORUM FOR 2009-10 SENATE CHAIR-ELECT AND SECRETARY OF THE FACULTY

Candidates Rebecca Woodard (Chair Elect) and Christopher Herr (Secretary of the Faculty) made statements and answered questions from the Senate.

ELECTION OF SENATE CHAIR-ELECT AND SECRETARY OF THE FACULTY

Because only one candidate for each position was nominated, and because the Bylaws do not allow for write-in candidates or for voting against a nominee, it was explained that the only way the candidates could fail to be elected was if no one voted for them. Accordingly, Chair Nugent asked at least one Senator to indicate an intention to vote for each candidate. Senator Hughes indicated that he would vote for Rebecca Woodard; Senator L. Cline indicated that he would vote for Christopher Herr. Once those votes were indicated, the nominees were declared elected.

Chair-Elect of the Faculty Senate for 2009-10: Rebecca Woodard Secretary of the Faculty for 2009-10: Christopher Herr

REPORT ON BUDGET

President Nietzel presented his report on the budget for the next fiscal year and answered questions from Senators and guests. He thanked members of both Faculty and Staff for their ongoing commitment to the university in tough economic times. The substance of the President's talk can be found at his website:

http://www.missouristate.edu/assets/president/AcadYr20092010OperatingBudgetPresent ation.pdf

ELECTION OF UNIVERSITY HEARING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Eight members of the University Hearing Committee were elected to serve 3-year terms ending in 2012:

Tim Knapp (Sociology, Anthropology, and Criminology) Donna Beardsley (Reading, Foundations, and Technology) Steve Thomas (Management) Billie Follensbee (Art and Design) William Corcoran (Geology, Geography, and Planning) Eric Bosch (Chemistry) Ben Timson (Biomedical Sciences) Gary Ward (Sports Medicine and Athletic Training)

ELECTION OF FACULTY STUDENT JUDICIAL COMMISSION MEMBERS

Three members of the Faculty-Student Judicial Commission were elected to serve twoyear terms ending in 2011:

John Hail (Childhood Education and Family Studies) Edward DeLong (Library) Richard Garrad (Biomedical Sciences)

ACTION ON CURRICULAR PROPOSAL

Graduate Certificate in Forensic Accounting Moved by Senator Chesman (seconded by Senator Philpot) APPROVED (Senate Action 31-08/09)

REPORT FROM AD HOC COMMITTEE ON MINORS FOR RETURNING GRADUATES

Dr. Rhonda Ridinger thanked the other members of her committee, Senators Dan Kaufman and Matthew Calihman, and Nathan Hoff, Associate Registrar. The committee reported their recommendation that students returning to Missouri State to earn a second degree not be required to complete a minor. A Senate Action concerning this recommendation may be presented at the May session of the Senate.

REPORT ON TIME-LIMITED AND NON-TENURABLE TEACHING FACULTY

Dr. Chris Craig and Dr. Kathy Coy reported on the use of time-limited and non-tenurable teaching faculty and answered questions from the Senate over the past five years, with comparisons to benchmark institutions.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS: None

NEW BUSINESS: None

The meeting was adjourned by Chair Pauline Nugent at 4:52 pm.

Christopher J. Herr Secretary of the Faculty

Faculty Senate Minutes

Senate Action 31-08/09

Adopted by Senate on April 16, 2009

Right of Challenge Expires May 12, 2009

Graduate Certificate in Forensic Accounting

A complete copy of the above curricular proposal can be viewed in the Faculty Senate office.