# Missouri State.

# Minutes of the April Session of the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate held the April session on Thursday, April 8, 2021, via Zoom. Chair Cameron Wickham called the session to order at 3:30 p.m. Mike Hudson served as parliamentarian.

Substitutes: Jungyoung Kim for Yating Liang (Kinesiology)

Absences: Charlene Berquist (Comm), Michele Brown (Social Work), Dave Cornelison (Physics, Astronomy, and MS), Richard Johnson (Info Tech & Cybersecurity), Robert Joseph (Defense and Strategic Studies), Cedric Mbanga (Finance & Gen Business), and Cathy Starr (Merch and Fashion Design)

Guests: Tamara Arthaud (Long Range Plan), Subhasree Basu Roy (Chair, Budget & Priorities), Brad Bodenhausen (Long Range Plan), Chin-Wen Chang (Grad Council), Chris Craig (Provost Office), Katrina Chavez (Registrar's Office), Laura Derrick (Planning, Design, Construction), Paul Durham (Future Academic Directions Task Force), Frank Einhellig (Provost), Douglas Gouzie (Long Range Plan), David Hall (University Safety), Blake Haynes (Long Range Plan), Cameron LaBarr (Long Range Plan), Saibal Mitra (Past Chair), Andrea Mostyn (Long Range Plan), Elizabeth Rozell (Long Range Plan), Suzanne Shaw (Long Range Plan), Clif Smart (President), Rabekah Stewart (Long Range Plan), Shawn Wahl (Long Range Plan), and Kelly Wood (Student Success).

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

The March minutes were approved as posted.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS

- 1. If necessary, a carry-over meeting will be held on Tuesday, April 13.
- 2. The Gardener Institute is offering a series every other Wednesday at 1 p.m. More information is available at www.jngi.org.
- 3. The Office of the Provost and the FCTL have purchased fifty seats for Faculty for Blend By Design for designing blended instruction.
- 4. Starting tomorrow a vaccine event begins for all Missourians ages 18 and over.

# CANDIDATE FORUM FOR 2021-2022 CHAIR-ELECT AND SECRETARY OF THE FACULTY

Chair-Elect Candidate Christopher Herr read his candidate statement. With no other candidate nominations, Christopher Herr was elected by acclimation.

Secretary of the Faculty Lanya Lamouria read her candidate statement. With no other candidate nominations, Lanya Lamouria was elected by acclimation.

# FACULTY SENATE CANDIDATE REPORT

Chair Cameron Wickham gave the floor to Chair-Elect Catherine Jolivette.

Catherine Jolivette announced her resignation to Faculty Senate due to medical reasons.

She thanked the Senate and the executive committee for a wonderful year.

Chair Wickham spoke to Catherine's belief in shared governance and her service, and wished her and her family well. Chair Wickham read the Bylaws relevant to the chair-elect's resignation and announced that Chris Herr, who is a former Faculty Senate Chair, will be instated as the Faculty Senate Chair for 2021-22.

Chris Herr nominated Mike Hudson, parliamentarian, as Faculty Senate Chair-Elect for 2021-22.

Chair Wickham entertained a vote to elect the new Faculty Senate Chair-Elect. With no objections the Senate voted to install Mike Hudson as the Faculty Senate Chair-Elect for 2021-22.

unapproved

#### **REPORT ON COVID-19 POLICIES**

Director of University Safety, David Hall, gave an update on Covid and shared the March data. Clif Smart, MSU President, presented a preview of tomorrow's townhall meeting. Wellness incentives for next year will be a \$20. per month for taking the Covid vaccine and \$10. per month for taking a flu vaccine. The town hall will be presented tomorrow at 3 p.m. discussing the return to campus.

#### VOTE ON CHANGES TO THE BYLAWS

The vote was conducted via email with electronic ballots. All the changes passed.

#### **REPORT FROM LONG-RANGE PLANNING COMMITTEE**

Suzanne Shaw, co-chair, and Cameron Labarr, committee member, presented the report.

#### **REPORT FROM THE COMMITTEE ON BUDGET & PRIORITIES**

Subhasree Basu Roy, committee chair, presented the report.

#### ACTION ON CURRICULAR PROPOSALS

Undergraduate Certificate: Working with Preschoolers Moved by Senator A. Minor Baker APPROVED SA 34-20/21

Special Education Minor Moved by Senator Uribe-Zarain APPROVED SA 35-20/21

CGEIP Course Deletion: Writing II: Nursing Research and Scholarly Writing Moved by Senator Shelley Carter APPROVED SA 36-20/21

# CGEIP Course Change: CSC 210 – Public Affairs Issues in Computing

Moved by Senator Lloyd Smith Discussion took place concerning removing this course from the general education program and whether there should be a general education program change submitted. APPROVED SA 37-20/21

**NEW BUSINESS** 

None.

Chair Cameron Wickham thanked Catherine Jolivette, Lanya Lamouria, Mike Hudson, and Sandy Johnson as well as the Senate for their support and service in the 2020-21 Faculty Senate term.

#### ADJOURNMENT

Chair Wickham adjourned the meeting at 5:12 p.m.

Lanya Lamouria Secretary of the Faculty

**Faculty Senate Minutes** 

#### Senate Action 34-20/21

#### Adopted by Senate on April 8, 2021

Faculty Senate Chair Must Be Notified of Intent to Challenge By: April 17, 2021 Right of Challenge Expires May 2, 2021

# New Program: Undergraduate Certificate: Working with Preschoolers

Senate Action 35-20/21

# Adopted by Senate on April 8, 2021

Faculty Senate Chair Must Be Notified of Intent to Challenge By: April 17, 2021 Right of Challenge Expires May 2, 2021

# New Program: Special Education Minor

Senate Action 36-20/21

Adopted by Senate on April 8, 2021

Faculty Senate Chair Must Be Notified of Intent to Challenge By: April 17, 2021 Right of Challenge Expires May 2, 2021

# Course Deletion: Writing II: Nursing Research and Scholarly Writing

Senate Action 37-20/21

Adopted by Senate on April 8, 2021

Faculty Senate Chair Must Be Notified of Intent to Challenge By: April 17, 2021 Right of Challenge Expires May 2, 2021

# Course Change: CSC 210 - Public Affairs Issues in Computing