

Meeting Date: May 7, 2020

Presiding Officer: Chair A'dja Jones

The Staff Senate held the May session on Thursday, May 7, 2020 by Zoom. Chair A'dja Jones called the session to order at 11:00 a.m.

**Guests: Bart Kelly** 

Absences: Gayle Anderson JF1; Mindi McCoy JF1; Ronnie Freeman JF2; Brian Henry JF2; Robert Grant JF3; Christine McCartney JF4 and Trisha Riggs JF4.

### **GREETING**

• Chair Jones welcomed everyone.

### APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

• April minutes were approved.

## **EXECUTIVE REPORTS**

- Chair Report
  - Chair Jones reported that there has been good information out of Clif's notes. Right now, there are no good decisions being made but the administration is doing their best to make the least bad decisions. Also, Human Resources is now doing a FAQ's zoom meeting every Tuesdays and Thursdays where you can ask questions on policy updates on leave. These take place from 1-2pm for employees and 2-3pm for supervisors. Sign up through MyLearningConnection.
  - There was much discussion on returning to work timeline and wearing masks and cleaning of our workstations and buildings.
  - Chair Jones reported that the Executive Budget Committee met for two hours. Overall
    Adja feels like it was more positive than expected. Clif is working hard to not furlough
    or lay off more people. The Board of Governors meet next week, and more will come
    after that meeting. There will be a Town Hall meeting May 20 at 10:30 via Zoom.
  - Chair Jones reported that the Staff Awards Committee did a 90's theme last year and they are looking for new ideas for this next year. If you have any thoughts, please let Chair Jones know.
  - There were no additional reports.

# **NEW BUSINESS**

- Chair Jones asked for a motion to start the election process. Senator Hains moved and Senator Backer seconded.
- Chair Elect nominations were Dr. Ryan Reed and Will Hader. Nomination ballot was sent out using an electronic ballot and Dr. Reed will be the next Chair Elect.
- Director of Committees had one nomination Heather Moore. Chair Jones asked for any objections to Senator Moore being appointed. There were no objections. Senator Heather Moore will be the Director of Committees.
- Secretary position had two nominations Kathleen Hains and Shelly Deckard. Electronic ballot was sent out and Shelly Deckard will be Secretary.
- Elections were concluded.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

• Meeting adjourned at 12:00.