Missouri State University

Distance Education Committee Meeting

March 1, 2018

Meeting Minutes

- 1. Meeting Minutes from February 1, 2018 approved and seconded.
- 2. Gary Certified Distance Educator awards review March 2018
 - 27 faculty received CDE award for 2017 (updated)
 - 24 faculty received CDE award for 2016
 - 16 faculty received CDE award for 2015

CDE Award given to one Dean, along with two MSU staff members, four Graduate Students, one Professor Emeritus, six Professors, seven Assistant Professors, two Associate Professors, nine Senior Instructors, four Clinical Instructors, and five Per Course Instructors.

Departments represented:

Accounting Management & Information Technology

Agriculture (Mountain Grove) Mathematics

Biomedical Sciences Media, Journalism and Film

Business (West Plains) Nursing

Childhood Ed and Family Studies Political Science

Communication Reading Foundations and Technology

Criminology Religious Studies
English Social Work

Hospitality Leadership Sociology and Anthropology

Faculty/staff who have received CDE award multiple times:

- Ethan Amidon
- Julie Baldwin
- Patti Blanton
- John Bourhis
- Ching-Wen Chang
- Tracy Dalton
- Lacey Geiger
- Michael Hammond
- Annice McLean
- Jennifer Pursley
- Kim Roam
- Jennifer Rojas-McWhinney
- Michael Suttmoeller
- Kimberly Van Ornum

3. Gary – MOCRA Award:

- It has been a significant tool to distinguish our best faculty and elevate their prestige among their peers. The top MSU MOCRA recipient receives a \$400 gift cart to the bookstore and is presented with a trophy at the All-Faculty Recognition Ceremony each year in the spring.
- How do we create more visibility and encourage nominations?

Promote simplified process for nominations, BB community, central portal to nominate, share information

Provide specific, clear criteria for nominations and submitting materials

After instructor surveys end, send invite to OL students to nominate their instructors

Faculty can nominate their own courses

Allow nominees to apply for one category or overall award

Share award information with College Deans, Department Heads and encourage them to discuss MOCRA with faculty during evaluation.

Student advisors can let students know they can nominate a course/instructor

Invite pool of candidates from recipients of College faculty awards

Shift award away from bookstore credit toward purchase of technology or programming

What are suggestions for reviewing course materials?

Include count for the number of discussion board responses during course

Use updated rubric from FCTL

Nominations ending March 19, submit applications before March 30 Trophy selection, order engraving first week of April

In attendance:

Joye Norris, Lacey Geiger, Gary Rader, Jessica Bennett, Caryn Saxon, Richard Johnson, Helena Metzker, Ching-Wen Chang, Chuck Hermans