

Minutes of the January Session of the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate held the January session on Thursday, January 20, 2022, via Zoom online. Chair Chris Herr called the session to order at 3:30 p.m. Cynthia MacGregor served as parliamentarian.

Substitutes: James Keaton for Senator Jill Layman (Anesthesia), and Melissa Penkalski for Shelley Carter (Nursing).

Absences: Kyle Thomas (Theater & Dance), and Qiu Wenping (Plant Sci & Natural Res).

Guests: Rachel Besara (Library), Katrina Chavez (Registrar's Office), John Chuchiak (Provost Diversity Council), Frank Einhellig (Provost), Tracey Glaessgen (Student Success), Judith Martinez (Modern & Classical Lang), Avery Russell (Provost Diversity Council), Clif Smart (President), Tracy Stout (CGEIP), Kelly Wood (Student Success), and Angela Young (Registrar's Office).

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The December minutes were approved as posted.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- 1. If necessary, a carry-over meeting will be held on Tuesday, January 25 at 3:30 via Zoom.
- 2. To reiterate one note included in the special rules of order sent out with the agenda: except for those votes where there is no obvious difference in opinion for the motion on the floor, voting will be conducted by Zoom, using the "raise hand" function. To raise your hand in Zoom's desktop app, click the "Raise Hand" button in the "Reactions" tab. In the mobile app, tap the "Raise Hand" option in the "More" tab. Once you have been recognized or the Chair indicates votes have been tallied, please lower your hand.
- 3. Nominations for the Eric Shade Award are open now; we have extended the deadline for nominations until February 15. The award was initiated to recognize those who "demonstrate significant commitment to the principles of faculty governance within the university. Nominees should be able to document a record of sustained excellence and substantial contributions to faculty governance through service in Faculty Senate and on Senate committees over a period of years."

Eligibility: Any current fulltime faculty member not serving as an administrator may be nominated for the award.

Nomination Process: Individuals may be nominated by other faculty members or may nominate themselves. Once nominated, a faculty member will be asked to submit to the Faculty Senate Chair a 1-2 page letter outlining their contributions to faculty governance, a CV listing service in Senate and on Senate committees, and the names of 2-3 references who can speak to the quality of the nominee's service. Faculty Senate Officers will select the award winner. The annual award winner will have their name placed on a permanent plaque to be displayed in Carrington Hall and will receive a \$500 cash award.

Deadline: Nominations must be submitted to the Faculty Senate Chair by February 15. Nominees will be contacted by February 20. Nominees must submit a letter, CV, and names of three references by February 27. Given the short turn-around time, it may be a good idea for those nominating anyone other than themselves to give a verbal notification to their nominee/s so that they can begin working on their applications. The award will be announced at a spring session of the Faculty Senate and presented at the University's spring awards ceremony.

REPORT FROM THE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

President Clif Smart presented the report. President Smart and Provost Einhellig answered questions from the Senate.

REPORT ON FIRST YEAR PROGRAMS

Tracey Glaessgen and Kelly Wood presented the report.

REPORT FROM THE COMMITTEE ON POLICY REVIEW

Cindy MacGregor, committee chair, presented the report.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Christina Simmers presented the report.

Senate went into quasi committee of the whole to continue discussion of the proposed revisions to the Faculty Handbook. The Senate discussed the revisions at length.

Due to the hour Chair Herr entertained a motion for the discussion to be postponed until the February session. Senator Thomas-Tate made the motion.

The motion passed.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Herr adjourned the meeting at 4:52 p.m.

Lanya Lamouria Secretary of the Faculty