History and Mission


The Staff Advisory Council was originally established by Dr. Marshall Gordon in November 1988 and consisted of eleven staff members from various job classifications. It took some time for the Council to gain momentum, but it really started to take off in 1993 under Dr. Keeling, acting President of the University.

Since its inception in 1988, Staff Senate has been making significant strides for staff by increasing staff involvement on campus and by initiating or assisting in the development of many staff benefits.

Through the years, many staff members have been involved in refining our mission and objectives. In 2001, the Staff Advisory Council became known as Staff Senate.